ArchitectureArt, Art Museums, Commercial Sites for Art ImagesClassicsCurrent Events ImagesDanceGeneralGraphic DesignHistoryImage Search EnginesMapsMuseum and Library Image CollectionsMusicPhotographyReligionSciencesTheaterWesleyan Image CollectionsWesleyan Licensed Databases
ARTstor Offline Image ViewerPowerPoint
Indexes to Art Reproductions in BooksVia the Library Catalog
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Finding and Using Images 

Links to online image databases and websites; suggestions on searching for images in print publications; tools for presenting images; information on citing images; and guides to copyright information
Last update: Sep 22nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.wesleyan.edu/findingimages  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Images in Journals             Print Page
  

Online Sources

Many indexes and databases will indicate whether or not the images are searchable by document type or physical description. Some indexes and databases will lead you to citations for articles with images; while others will take you directly to the image itself.


Some useful databases include:

 

Print Sources

  • Illustration Index
    Call Number: Olin Ref N7525 .V3 1966
    One volume plus subsequent updates provide subject listing of images found in popular magazines including Life, National Geographic, Sports Illustrated, and Travel & Leisure from 1960s to 1996.
 

Comments/Questions?

Susanne Javorski
Contact Info:
Art Library, Davison Art Center
(860) 685-3326
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait