- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
- Asahi Shimbun via Kikuzo II Visual for Libraries Database
WARNING: Off campus access is available only through VPN. The Kikuzo II Visual for Libraries Database provides access to Asahi Shimbun: full text from 1984 to the present, Image Database from 1879 to 1989: Meiji and Taisho Periods (1879-1926), Pre-War Showa Period (1926-1945), Post-WWII Showa Period (1945-1989); Who?s Who; and a Historical Photo Archive for the Period between the 1930s and 1945.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
The on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.
- China Academic Journals (CAJ)
Full text articles from Chinese academic journals. Subject contents covers areas of Social Sciences and Humanities and consist of:
4 Series databases-- Literature/History/Philosophy, Politics/Military affairs/Law, Education/Social Sciences, Economics
- China Data Online (hosted on Data-Planet)
China Data Online integrates historical and social and natural science data in a geographic information system with the goal of supporting research in the human and natural components of local, regional, and global change; and promoting quantitative research on China, collaborative research in spatial studies, and the use and sharing of China data in teaching and research. The CDC partners with several Chinese government agencies and companies, and is exclusively authorized by the National Bureau of Statistics of China, in distributing China statistical data and publications and providing data services outside of China. The national-level dataset reports data for China in total, and the subnational dataset reports data for provinces, counties, and cities within China.
- Contemporary Authors
Brief biographical, bibliographical, and critical information on authors of fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields. Contains information on over 100,000 living authors or those who have died since 1960. Also includes information on earlier 20th century authors whose works continue to influence current writers.
- Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
Contains significant published criticism on works of selected current novelists, poets, critics, dramatists, short story writers, and other creative writers. Contains information on writers who have died since 1960. Sources for the critical essays and excerpts include books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers, and scholarly journals.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
Critical and biographical essays about authors from a wide range of nationalities and time periods. Approximately 10,000 essays covering authors from the ancient world to the present.
- JapanKnowledge Library (+ NRK)
JapanKnowledge + NRK (includes JapanKnowledge PlusN, and the Kokushi daijiten and the Nihon Rekishi chinei taikei). Additionally, it is a large collection of language dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical dictionaries, and other Japanese reference works for Japanese-only searches of historical terms and figures. It includes abbreviate version of the Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan in English and full-text coverage of the Toyo Bunko and Shan Ekonomisuto (Weekly Economist). PLEASE NOTE: 14 UNIVERSITIES, INCLUDING WESLEYAN, SHARE 12 SIMULTANEOUS USERS. PLEASE BE CONSIDERATE AND LOG OUT WHEN FINISHED.
- MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- PAIS International
The PAIS database contains references dating from 1915 to the present to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
- Siku Quanshu
BFORE USING: 1) Can only be accessed with IE browser on a PC 2) Follow instructions at DOWNLOAD PAGE to enable access to content The Siku Quanshu was compiled between 1773 and 1782 under the edict of Emperor Qianlong of the Qing Dynasty, China. Containing more than 3,460 works with a total of more than 36,000 volumes, it is the most comprehensive collection of Chinese scholarship up to the 18th century. It covers a wide variety of subjects in the humanities, science, and social sciences. The electronic Siku Quanshu is the Wenyuange edition. It is a full-text retrieval system that includes the digitized texts as well as the images of the original pages of the entire Siku Quanshu and a few other useful tools.
- Yomiuri Shinbun via Yomidas Rekishikan database
YOMIDAS REKISHIKAN is the full text database of the Yomiuri Shinbun from its initial publication in 1874 to date, as well as full text of the Daily Yomiuri, its English language equivalent, and a biographical dictionary of modern Japanese figures. Articles are keyword indexed to 8/31/1986, and can be searched full-text from 9/1/1986 to present.