LibGuides: Asian Languages And Literatures-old: Find Articles

Asian Languages and Literatures Indexes and Databases

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
This index, international in scope, and retrospective to 1971, contains about
420,000 references mostly in the Humanities and Social Sciences
about Asia.

China Academic Journals Databases
Wesleyan subscribes to the Humanities portion, which covers subjects
like language, literature, history, archeology, and film studies.
Coverage begins in 1994.
CiNii Articles - National Institute of Informatics
CiNii Articles is a database service which can search of information on academic articles published in academic society journals, university research bulletins or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database and databases.
JSTOR
Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html.
MLA (Modern Language Association) Bibliography
MLA Bibliography is the major index in the fields of world literature, language, linguistics and folklore from 1963 to the present time.
more...less...
It
provides access to scholarly research in over 3000 journals,
publisher's series, monographs, dissertations, and conference
proceedings. The paper version of this index, available in the Olin
Library reference collection goes back to 1929.
Project Muse
Project MUSE was launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press, to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals via the world wide web. Subjects covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, economics, Asian studies, anthropology, psychology, mathematics, and philosophy.

Internet Indexes

Note: It is important to keep in mind that anyone can publish information on the Internet. You need to be very careful about evaluating and citing information found on the Web. Another good way of finding Asian Languages And Literatures resources is to use a search engine or subject directory.

Meta Sites/Guides to asian languages and literatures Sites - These sites list, and often evaluate, web sites relevant to research in Asian Languages And Literatures. See Indexes and Databases for a full list of available databases.

Ariadne - This database focuses on the Arts and Humanities, but it also includes mailing lists, and other resources. This is a fine way to see which resources are considered to be of top quality in Japan

China National Knowledge Index - Wesleyan subscribes to one part of China Academic Journal, listed under Indexes and Databases. This Index is to enable users to search beyond the subscription coverage through CNKI's citation only database.

China Related Sites on the Web - This index is compiled and maintained by Wesleyan University's Asian Languages and Literatures department.

Hong Kong Information in Chinese Journals

Japan Related Sites on the Web - This index is compiled and maintained by Wesleyan University's Asian Languages and Literature Department.

The Internet Guide for China Studies - This site provides indexes to Web sites on Chinese language and literature.

J Guide--The Stanford Guide to Japan Information Sources - An extensive guide to Web links dealing with all aspects of Japan arranged according to subject category.

Kris Troost's Guide to Japanese Studies Resources (Duke University) - A massive website hosted by Duke University Library that offers information about online and print resources in Chinese, Japanese and Korean studies.

Online Resources for Japanese Studies, (University of Massachusetts, Amherst) - This is a wonderfully arranged and presented website maintained by Sharon Dormier, East Asian Studies Librarian at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. There are annotated links to virtually any type of information the student or scholar of Japanese studies could be searching for. This site is truly "one stop" shopping for information about Japan and how to locate it.

Search Engines

Google Japan - Google in Japanese !

Japan Foundation's Japanese Literature in Translation database - An excellent database for students to search for translations of Japanese literature.

Library of Congress Asian Reading Room - This link to the Asian Reading Room at the Library of Congress offers Basic research assistance related to East Asia, Southeast Asia, and the Indian subcontinent. Questions may be submitted regarding resources that are unique to the Library of Congress with a response time of within five days.

National Diet Library (Japan) - The NDL's international reference service is available to overseas institutions of Japanese studies and individuals who study subjects related to Japan. Requests for the reference service are accepted and answered by e-mail, postal mail or fax. (Note: Requests must be made in English or in Japanese.)

Web Japan: Japan Links (A Comprehensive Directory of useful Websites) - This is an excellent place to find information about virtually every aspect of contemporary Japanese government and politics, business & economy, mass media, society and culture.

Yahoo! Japan - Yahoo in Japanese !