All resources listed without links are print resources located in the Reference section on the main level of the Science Library.

Images

Cell Image Library - from the American Society for Cell Biology now managed by the National Center for Microscopy and Imaging Reserach (UCSD) - open access resource; most image files are available for non-commercial reuse under a Creative Commons license

Online Encyclopedias

• Encyclopedia of Life - Information and pictures of all species known to science.
• Animals and Science: A Guide to the Debates - Examines the debates, from the Renaissance to the present, surrounding issues of animal rights, consciousness, and self-awareness.
• Concise Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology - An easy-to-use reference source covering the full range of subject areas associated with plant pathology.
• Encyclopedia of Cancer - Provides rapid access to focused information on all topics of cancer research for clinicians, research scientists and advanced students. Provides definitions of common acronyms and short definitions of related terms and processes in the form of keyword entries. Detailed essays, which provide comprehensive information on syndromes, genes and molecules, and processes and methods. 7000 entries.
• Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management - Provides a complete guide to the core definitions and issues associated with pure and applied ecology.
• Encyclopedia of Insects - A comprehensive work devoted to all aspects of insects, including their anatomy, physiology, evolution, behavior, reproduction, ecology, and disease, as well as issues of exploitation, conservation, and management.
• Encyclopedia of the Human Genome - Presenting a comprehensive and rigorously detailed overview of current research and its groundbreaking applications, this major reference work examines many peripheral topics surrounding the field such as law, ethics, medicine and public health, history, religion and industry.
• Evolution of Nervous Systems - the current state-of-the-art knowledge on how nervous systems evolved throughout the animal kingdom. Outlines the changes in brain and nervous system organization that occurred from the first vertebrates to present day fishes, reptiles, birds, mammals, and especially primates, including humans. Over 100 distinguished neuroscientists contributed articles ranging from overviews to specific topics.
• Human Evolution: A Guide to the Debates - A fascinating and wide-ranging look at the controversies surrounding the search for the origins of the human species.
• Rivers of North America - Rivers of North America is a useful starting point for understanding both the overall pressures on our rivers and the particular attributes of North America's great waterways. This volume is a must for river scientists, conservationists, paddlers, river recreationists, sports fishermen - for anyone and everyone concerned about the future of the continent's most valuable natural resource.

Print Encyclopedias

• Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology and Molecular Medicine - QH 506 E534 1996 - A 6 volume set covering molecular biology with a focus on molecular medicine, including genetic screening, gene therapy, molecular medicine, structural biology, and the technology and findings of the Human Genome Project.
• Encylopedia of Human Biology - QP 11 E53 1991 - An 8 volume set covering all aspects of human biology. Essays are written by subject experts and include bibliographies for further research.
• Walker's Mammals of the World - QL 703 N69 1991 - The best source for information on mammals. Includes taxonomy, pictures, and brief essays on all of the worlds mammals. Includes an excellent bibliography.

Dictionaries

• Oxford Dictionary of Natural History - QH 13 O9 1985
• Synopsis and Classification of living Organisms - QH 83 S889 - A two volume set that details biological classification from the family level up. Coverage includes brief descriptive entries and is restricted to recent organisms.