Science Library has many USGS maps that are not represented in the Library Catalog. Most maps, including the USGS Topographic maps, are located on the Lower Level of the Science Library. Newer versions are typically available online, and the library is not actively adding to its collection of printed maps. See the box below for online equivalents and links to data sources. The University of North Carolina University Libraries Map Finder can be useful in determining the date and types of maps published by the U.S. government. 

Select map series available in the Science Library:

• U.S. Geological Survey Topographic Maps 1:25,000 (aka 7.5 minute quadrangle maps) show an area in detail. This map series includes maps for most of the United States and U.S. territories. Use the online locator at the USGS Store to determine which quadrangle map you need or get a digital copy. New maps are not being added to this collection. Download current 7.5 and 15 minute maps here.
• U.S. Geological Survey Topographic Maps 1:62,500 (aka 15 minute quadrangle maps; 1 inch = 1 mile) were replaced by the 1:25,000 series. Download current 7.5 and 15 minute maps here.
• Geological Atlas of the United States published from 1894 to 1945 as large folios. Included are natural features, economic resources, and landmarks. Link to digital equivalent.
• USGS Miscellaneous Field Studies Maps - Indexed by date and in the National Geologic Map Database - Maps are located in filing cabinets on the main floor of the Science Library. Includes hydrologic and coal investigations.
• Antarctica USGS 1:250,000 Geologic Reconnaissance Series Link to digital equivalent.
• Bureau of Land Management Surface Management Maps 1:100,000 are detailed resource management maps covering approximately 30 x 50 miles (30X60 minutes).
• Operational Navigational Charts of the world at 1:1,000,000. Link to digital equivalent.
• Jet Navigation Charts (JNC) 1:2,000,000
• Army Map Series published from 1941-1968 covering various countries
• Defense Mapping Agency topographic maps of foreign countries at various scales

Maps and Data

• National Geologic Map Database (online) - Geoscience resource for maps and related data about: geology, hazards, earth resources, geophysics, geochemistry, geochronology, paleontology, and marine geology.

• USGS Names Lexicon (Geolex) - a National compilation of names and descriptions of geologic units; searchable with links to the National Geologic Map Database.

• The National Map - The National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation. The National Map is easily accessible for display on the Web, as products and services, and as downloadable data. The geographic information available from The National Map includes orthoimagery (aerial photographs), elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover.

• USGS Publications Warehouse (online) - Contains full product and thematic map content for over 40,000 publications

• Geologic Maps of U.S. States - Digital geologic maps of the US states with consistent lithology, age, GIS database structure, and format

• State Geological Surveys (AASG) - Association of American State Geologists - Surveys by individual state

• Connecticut Maps and Data - University of Connecticut Map and Geographic Information Center (MAGIC)

• Water Resources of the United States - maps and GIS data

• USGS Map Scales

• US Topo Quadrangles (online) - US Topo maps are a graphic synthesis of The National Map data files and are produced in the familiar 7.5-minute by 7.5- minute geographic format. Modeled on the printed, legacy USGS topographic maps, they are digital files that are available for free Web download from the USGS Store, (printed copies can be ordered for a fee). The digital presentation (GeoPDF®) enables limited geospatial analysis. Downloaded US Topo maps are usually 15 to 20 megabytes and are organized in theme-based layers to be compatible with widely available display and analytical tools

• Historical Topographic Maps (online) - high-resolution scans of more than 178,000 historical topographic maps of the United States

• Army Map Service Topographic Map Series (Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection, University of Texas at Austin) - international maps; U.S. Army Map Service, scales vary, topographic series, ca. 1940- ; includes Army Map Service City Plan series from 1942-1945 for China, Formosa, France, Italy, Japan, Korea, Morocco, Philippines, Spain, Tripolitana (Libya) and Tunisia.

• Geological Atlas of the United States (1894 - 1945) - The Geologic Atlas of the United States is a set of 227 folios published by the U.S. Geological Survey between 1894 and 1945. Each folio includes both topographic and geologic maps for each quad represented in that folio, as well as description of the basic and economic geology of the area. The Geologic Atlas collection is maintained by the Map & GIS Library of Texas A & M University Libraries.

• Historic USGS Maps of New England and New York - from University of New Hampshire Library

• Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection - University of Texas at Austin - Superb collection of digitized maps

• David Rumsey Map Collection - The historical map collection has over 65,000 maps and images online. The collection includes rare 16th through 21st century maps of America, North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Pacific and the World.

• Library of Congress Geography and Map Reading Room (digitized maps)

• Aerial Photographs and Satellite Images

• National Digital Orthoimagery Program (NDOP) - orthoimagery data for Federal agencies

• Links to State GIS Resources and Maps - from University of Oregon Libraries

• GIS Data & Maps (international) - from Cornell University Libraries - use the menu on the left to select continent

• National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency - Wikipedia article about the agency and forerunners such as the Army Map Service and Defense Mapping Agency

• USGS Science Data Catalog - search and discovery tool that allows for metadata retrieval, visualization, download, and linking back to original data providers