Books

While other sources are essential excerpts of the bigger picture, books provide comprehensive, contextual information.  

Review Articles

Reviews of research provide help the reader to understand not just what one study says, but how the results of multiple studies piece together. Review articles, also known as narrative literature reviews, are similar to student papers in some ways. Foremost, they are not necessarily comprehensive, and they can introduce the author's bias. For more rigorous, evidence-based information, see Consensus Development Statements or Systematic reviews. To search for review articles, look for the 'review'  or 'literature review' limiter in any health-related database.

MedlinePlus

Valid information written for consumers are a good starting point. MedlinePlus is maintained by the National Library of Medicine. 

Manuals

• Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5 - - Science Library Reference - - RC 455.2 .C4 D536 2013

Encyclopedias

• Encyclopedia of Human Behavior - - BF 31 .E5 1994 - Four volume set covering all aspects of human behavior.
• Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory - - BF 318 .E53 1992 - Covers concepts related to learning and memory,primarily in humans but also includes information on other animals.
• Encyclopedia of Psychology - - BF 31 .E52 1994 - Four volume encyclopedia covering topics in psychology and related disciplines. The first three volumes contain entries on the subject matter of psychology; volume four contains biographies and a bibliography, and an index to the full set.
• Oxford Companion to the Mind - - BF 31 .O94 1987 - Examines the human mind from the perspectives of psychology, neurology, biology, and other sciences related to mental functioning.

Dictionaries

• Dictionary of Key Words in Psychology - - BF 31 .B78 1986 - Definitions of important concepts in psychology. This is not, and is not intended to be, an exhaustive catalog of all terms in psychology; it covers the more common and important concepts, with examples to illustrate meaning and use, and an emphasis on how various concepts are related.

Guides/Summaries

• A Handbook for Psychology - - BF 76.8 .R43 1992 - How to use library resources effectively when doing research in psychology. Includes lists and evaluations of many reference works, indexes, and other sources of information.