American newspapers from the 18th & 19th centuries. Eras covered include the Colonial Period, the French & Indian War, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, African-American History, Industrial Revolution, and Genealogy emphasizing eyewitness accounts of historical events, editorials, popular culture, and commerce during the 18th and 19th centuries in America.

Periodicals and magazines from the USA and Canada from the colonial period through to the twentieth century. Includes unusual and short-lived magazines as well as better-known titles with long runs. Themes include the growing tensions between colonists and their oversea rulers, the Industrial Revolution, immigration, women’s rights, World War I, as well as fashion and music during the Roaring Twenties. Search here if you are in need of primary sources based in the USA and Canada.

Digitized content of American periodicals published from colonial times to the beginning of the 20th (1740-1940) in over 1,100 literary and professional journals, Civil War, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Interdisciplinary primary source collection spanning the 15th - 21st century.

Records describing archival materials, making information available about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials, held primarily at institutions in the United States. Also provides contact information for the institutions where the collections are kept.

Digital collections covering a broad range of multi-disciplinary topics from the Middle Ages forward – from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Includes U.S. foreign policy; U.S. Civil Rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history.

Primary source material from British and European archives relating to gender studies with an emphasis on history, literature, sociology, education and cultural studies from a gendered perspective. Material dates back to the fifteenth century.

Digitized large-scale, detailed maps of Connecticut towns and cities in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created for fire insurance companies assessing risk, they list street numbers of properties, outlines of buildings, and details about things such as building uses and construction materials and methods.

Digitized books, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents, ephemera, etc., printed in the United States from the early colonial era until 1900.
Includes the databases:
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
- American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I, 1760-1900

Historic newspapers covering three centuries.

Descriptions of early interactions and encounters among various cultural groups in North America as well as its natural features using a variety of primary source materials. Early encounters between Native Americans, Europeans, Africans and Americans on the North American Continent from 1534

Digital facsimiles of works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere between 1473-1700. From the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

Books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera printed in the United Kingdom and Americas between 1701 and 1800 on the subjects including art, history, law, literature, music, and technology.

A guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750.

Digitized complete contents (e.g., articles, news, editorials, illustrations, cartoons, advertisements, maps, travel narratives, poetry) for years covered – search text, browse by issues, or browse by topics.

Full text articles from the first issue in 1764 - current

Cross-searchable access to the complete contents of the following sixteen (16) historical newspapers. Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Boston Globe (1872-1992); Chicago Defender (1909-1975); Chicago Tribune (1849-1999); Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991); Hartford Courant (1764-1998); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Los Angeles Times (1881-2000); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); New York Times (1851-2020); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Wall Street Journal (1889-2012), Washington Post (1877-2007).

Primary source material from nine (9) newspapers essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts, examines major movements from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights, and explores everyday life. The newspapers included in this collection are: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991); Kansas City Call (1919-2010); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).

Rare Periodicals from Confederate, Union, Abolitionist, and British Presses most of them illustrated and published from 1860 to 1865. The publications present four viewpoints: Union, Confederate, Abolitionist, and British. The database also contains a sample selection of letters from The American Civil War Letters and Diaries. These publications allow users to follow the election of Lincoln in 1860, the subsequent course of the Civil War from Fort Sumter through Appomattox, Lincoln's re-election in 1864, his assassination in 1865, and the beginning of Reconstruction under President Andrew Johnson

Statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. The collection includes data on the Americas, Europe, Africa, Asia and Oceania. 1750 to 2010.

Primary sources related to development of the U.S. infrastructure. American social history from the Antebellum period through Reconstruction, with focus on education, psychology, history, sociology, religion, science, and technology.

Historical works, charters, legal texts, letters, political texts, and literature from the European Middle Ages.

Geologic maps and other types of geoscience reports on topics such as: general geology, natural hazards, earth resources, geophysics, geochemistry, geochronology, stratigraphy, paleontology, and marine geology. Early 1800s-current

Aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States. 1790-current. Note: data is free for use, but registration is required.

Full text articles from the first issue in 1851 - current

British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries. Pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day.

Primary source material from immigrants to the United States and Canada. Letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, political cartoons, and oral histories from 1890-1920.

Primary source material about personal and historical events written by women who lived in North America from 1675 to 1950. Materials include letters and diaries previously published in other sources as well as materials from unpublished manuscript sources.

Pamphlets and Newspapers expanding on individual perspectives of government officials, clergy, social reformists, the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties, and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves. Dates covered 1840-1865

High-resolution color images of every page of the surviving volumes of Queen Victoria's journals, along with separate photographs of the many illustrations and inserts within the pages. Each page has also been transcribed and re-keyed, allowing for the journals to be searched. A number of specially-commissioned essays have also been included in this resource, to further support the study and understanding of Queen Victoria and her world.

Books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, religious history and more. Includes the Caribbean. Covers dates from time of discovery to the early 1900s.

Data from UK government-sponsored surveys, cross-national surveys, longitudinal studies, UK census data, international aggregate, business data, and qualitative data. Also includes general instructional guides to preparing and managing data.

A collection of archival collections, with a variety of digitized primary source materials covering such subject areas as: American and British history, literature, and culture; women, gender, and sexuality; law and legal issues; modern China; indigenous peoples of North America.

Historical archive of several significant British news sources such as The Times, Economist, Illustrated London News, Listener, and Punch.

To access all the content and services available to Wesleyan users, including the ability to download all public domain volumes either one page at a time or in their entirety, you must first log in by following these steps: 1. Go to the Hathi Trust link (above). 2. Click on the yellow 'Log In' button. 3. Select Wesleyan University from the drop-down menu and click 'Continue.' 4. You will be redirected to login with your Wesleyan username/password' The Hathi-Trust (pronounced 'hah-tee') is a partnership of libraries and research institutions that have come together to build and share a digital repository of print works. Begun in 2008, the goal of the partnership is to build a comprehensive archive of published literature from around the world. The Hathi Trust has pursued this goal chiefly by digitizing materials like books and journals from major library collections and other partners,such as Google, the Internet Archive, and Microsoft. Wesleyan University Library joined in 2016.

Digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary sources with a focus on the Black Freedom Movement of the 20th Century, Southern Life and Slavery, Women's Rights, International Relations, American Politics and Society with a strong focus on labor unions, workers and radical politics in the 20th Century

An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers across the U.S. in the 1920s. It also includes the voices from several anti-Klan newspapers.

A collection of US and British papers that represent Communism, Socialism, and Marxism as alternative visions of organizing society. Based in the philosophy of Karl Marx, his critique of political economy, and Marx’s belief in social politics, it addresses issues of the 20th Century such as: the working class, labor conditions, unionism, post-WWII McCarthyism, and Nazi crimes against humanity.

Weekly magazine, intellectual counterpart to the BBC listings magazine, Radio Times. Developed as the medium for reproducing broadcast talks initially on radio but in later years television as well. 1929-1991

British wit and satire magazine, began as a campaigner for social justice and played a central role in the formation of the British identity throughout the world. 1841-1992

Comprehensive summary statistics on the United States from U.S. federal and state agencies and a number of other sources, with citations to sources for full statistical and data sets.
Print copies are available in Olin Library Stacks at call number HA 202.

Materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world documenting colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention and worldwide networks that supported generations of resistance. Focus on liberation struggles of Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. 20th Century

Primary source materials, writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made.

Digital library of high resolution images for instruction, study, and research in the arts, architecture, humanities and social sciences. The images have been contributed by museums, scholarly collections, photo archives, and artists' estates. Pre-history-21st century.

Legislative and executive documents from the first 14 U.S. Congresses, from 1789-1817. Includes papers on foreign relations; Indigenous peoples; finance; commerce and navigation; military and naval affairs; genealogy; and political, social, cultural, and ethnic history.

Papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Also included is a digitised version of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739, which contains bibliographic records and extracts for thousands of additional documents.

Declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century.

Record of the floor action from the early U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, 1789-1817

Minutes of Senate floor action on military events, judicial appointments, foreign affairs and other important issues, providing a record of American congressional and political history over nearly 200 year. First Congress through 96th Congress, 1789-1980.

Reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives subjects include the armed forces, economics, education, agriculture, government, international affairs, law, science and technology, social issues. 15th Congress (1817)through 103rd Congress, 2nd session, 1994.