This is a brief guide to some of the major library and internet resources for research in East Asian Studies. Remember that depending on your topic, resources in other subject areas may be useful. If you want more resources or assistance using these, please set up a personal research session to meet with a librarian.
Asian Survey in JSTOR
Beijing review in China Academic Journals
China Economic Review (CER) in LexisNexis Academic
China international studies in China Academic Journals Full-text Database
China Quarterly in JSTOR
Chinese journal of political science in Academic Search Premier
Chinese law and government
M.E. Sharpe Journals04/01/1968 -
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)01/01/1999 - 11/30/1999
Academic Search Premier01/01/2001 -
Contemporary international relations in China Academic Journals
Country Forecast. China in ABI/INFORM Complete
International Security in JSTOR
Academic Search Premier A multidisciplinary database which will be a good start to do exploratory research.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) Citations to scholarly journal articles and monographs relating to all areas of Asia.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online Access to full text of journal articles, book chapters, working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, and case studies on international affairs from selected publishers, think tanks, research institutes, NGOs, and leading scholars.
China Academic Journals Full Text : 1915 - Covers 9,800 journals published in China.
PAIS International Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other literature on international relations issues.
Archives of the Chinese Government:(Trial requested) includes archives and publications of the Chinese central government, its ministries and subsidiaries, and regional authorities.
National Policies (2001- present)
Regional Policies (2001- present)
Speeches/Publications of Ministerial/Provincial Officers (2004- present)
National/Provincial/Ministerial Government Annual Statements (1983- present)
Foreign Minister's Spokesperson's Statements & Speeches (1997- present)
Foreign Minister's Press Conference (2001- present)
People's Daily (1946 - Present)
The Database of the Chinese Government: includes archives and publications of the Chinese central government, its ministries and subsidiaries, and regional authorities. (Trial request)
The Database (Archives) of the Communist Party of China (CPC): contains archives and publications of the Communist Party of China since its establishment in 1921. (Trial requested)
The Database of the National People's Congress (NPC): is a collection of reports, primarily by People’s Daily and People’s Daily Online, on National People’s Congress. (Trial requested)
The Database of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC) is a comprehensive collection of archives and documents of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference
Late Qing Periodical Full-text Database 晚清期刊全文数据库 (1833-1911) is a database covering 304 journals published during the late Qing Dynasty from 1833 to1910 and downloadable more than 280,000 entries full-text including the events shortly before the 1911 Chinese Revolution. This database is a good source for the studies of contemporary Chinese history, politics, literature, arts, culture, social sciences, etc. (Trial requested)
Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911~1949) (Trial requested)
