This is the "Home" page of the "English and Literature Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English and Literature Resources  

Resources for research in English or literature courses.
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wesleyan.edu/english Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Cite it!

Check with your professor about the preferred citation style for your course.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers

Olin Library Reference (Floor 1)

Call number: LB2369 .G53 2003b

Perhaps the most frequently used citation style in the fields of language and literature. Consult the book for full details, or visit the University of Wisconsin-Madison's Modern Language Association Documentation.

 

Turabian's Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations

Olin Library Reference (Floor 1)

Call number: LB2369 .T8 2007

A somewhat simplified version of the Chicago Manual of Style. Use the volume for full information. There are some examples available here.

 

Chicago Manual of Style

Olin Library Reference (Floor 1)

Call number: Z253 .U69 2003

Consult the volume, or access it digitally at the Chicago Manual of Style Online

 

Starting Points to Find Articles

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.


Humanities Full Text (1984-present)

Full text or bibliographic citations (author, title, source, date) for articles in academic journals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, world literature.


Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.

 

Search Wesleyan's Library

 

The first and best place to find books about your topic is the library's catalog.

 

Wesleyan Library Catalog - Quick Search

 

Look it up!

Oxford English Dictionary

Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Alec McLane
Contact Info
I'm the Music Librarian, supervising Olin Library's Scores & Recordings collection; I'm also the library liaison for the Music, Dance, and English departments

Office:
327c Olin Library (Music Library)
860-685-3899
Send Email
 

Get Writing Help

The University's Writing Workshop is a great resource for students who want writing assistance. They have put together a handy online guide to writing in English courses.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip