LibGuides: Physics: Home

Research in Physics

Physics is the study of the nature and properties of matter and energy.

Physicists primarily produce and read:

research articles in scholarly journals
preprints

Find Journal Articles

Indexes & Databases - These indexes and databases are the ones most likely to be relevant to research in Physics. See Indexes and Databases for a full list of available online databases. See the Mathematics Guide for related materials.

Science Citation Index Expanded This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the fields of science and technology, including agriculture, neuroscience, medicine, physics, astronomy, biochemistry, biology, plant sciences, computer science, and behavioral sciences. Search by topic or use Cited Reference Search to discover what publications have cited a specific article. 1900-current
arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
Open access archive for journal articles in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. 1991-current
INSPIRE High Energy Physics This link opens in a new window
Articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses on high-energy physics. 1974-current. Succeeds the Stanford Physics Information Retrieval System (SPIRES)
NASA Astrophysics Data System Journals This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in astronomy and physics. Also includes astronomical object information, data catalogs, and datasets. Includes ArXiv. 1992-current
ProceedingsFirst This link opens in a new window
Citations to publications of academic and professional conferences, workshops, and symposia. 1993–current .

SciTechConnect
SciTech Connect consolidates the contents of OSTI's Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database. From the U.S. Dept. of Energy.
PAGES: Public Access Gateway for Energy & Science
U.S. Department of Energy portal for journal articles and accepted manuscripts resulting from DOE research funding.

Data/Tables

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (Online) (also in print in Science Reference: QD65 .H23) - A classic and extensive source for physical constants, chemical properties and other data pertaining to chemistry and physics. Data is displayed in tables; the handbook is updated annually.

Library

Physics

Research Tips

Evaluating Sources (created by NCSU Libraries)

Questions?

Research in Physics

Find Journal Articles

Data/Tables

Physics News