Last Updated: Jul 11, 2013
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance Ref PN2035 .O92 2003
Cambridge Guide to Theatre Ref PN2035 .C27 1995 (also online)
Oxford Illustrated History of Theatre Ref PN2111 .O95 1995
- Cambridge Guide to Theatre
Information on the history and present practice of theatre in all parts of the world.
- Theatre Histories
A theater textbook supplement with extensive subject bibliographies. Click on ‘For the Student’ for the bibliographies. Also includes an additional link to websites and audio-visual resources.
- Drama Online (on trial through May 21, 2013)
A constantly growing collection of plays, from ancient to new writers. It also provides contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.
- Literary Encyclopedia (on trial through April 27, 2013)
a literary and cultural reference work offering comprehensive coverage of English-language literature and is very strong in French, German, Italian, Russian, Spanish and the Classics. It also offers abundant information on the historical context of literary production.
- World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
The most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 and 2012. Citations only - does not include full text.
- Shakespeare's Theatre: a Dictionary of His Stage
Basic information most relevant to the original staging of Shakespeare and the study of these productions.
- Shakespeare Survey
A series of Shakespeare studies and production. Since 1948 Survey has published the best international scholarship in English and many of its essays have become classics of Shakespeare criticism.
- Grove Art Online
Grove Art Online is today's foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. Search for "theater".
The Indexes tab on the Library's home page gives you access to hundreds of other indexes and databases that are available to the Wesleyan community.
- International Index to the Performing Arts
Access to the information in more than 210 international performing arts periodicals(30+ full text), and retrospective citations dating back as far
- Literature Online (LION)
With over a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with the definitive online criticism and reference library, Literature Online is the world's largest cross-searchable database of literature and criticism.
- MLA (Modern Language Association)
Citations to publications pertaining to languages, literature, linguistics, literary theory. Covers publications from 1963 to the present.
- Humanities Full Text with Retrospective Index
Humanities Full Text with retrospective index includes academic journals in the humanities with indexing for almost 700 journals dating back to 1984. The retrospective portion of the index dates between 1907-1984.
- Historical Abstracts
An index to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
- ITER (Bibliography of Medieval and Renaissance Studies)
Journal articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts, discographies, monographs and collections of essays pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
- Annee Philologique
History, literature, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, music, science, early Christian texts, numismatics, and epigraphy related to the Greek and Roman civilization from 200 B.C. to the early Middle Ages.
- Readers' Guide Full Text with Retrospective Index
Readers Guide includes indexing of over 550 periodicals as far back as 1890 and searchable full text of articles from over 250 journals as far back as 1994. Covers a broad range of subject areas.
- Academic Search Premier
Source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
- Periodicals Archive Online
Lists the tables of contents (with access to some full text articles) from social science and humanities journals from as far back as 1770 to recent issues.
A trusted archive of important scholarly journals. Full text articles. Does does most recent 3-5 years.
- Project Muse
Full text of scholarly journals. Subjects covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, and more. Full text articles from mid-1990s to present.
- Google Scholar
Searches academic publishers and professional societies.
- Theatre in Video
Contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries about theater in streaming video.
Browse "Documentaries" from home page.
- BBC Shakespeare Plays
This collection provides streaming access to the 37 Shakespeare plays produced by the BBC between 1978 and 1985.
- Videos in Wesleyan's Collection
Shortcut to searching videos only in Wesleyan's catalog.
- ARTstor Digital Library
More than 1.5 million images from many time periods and cultures.
Suggestion -- Use the search term "theater" in combination with other terms such as "stage", "costume", "set" or name of country, for example. Sort by date.