Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Data Management: Collect/Acquire

Help making Data Management Plan

Data Collection / Acquiring Data

Data Collection is the process of gathering and measuring information on variables of interest, in an established systematic fashion that enables one to answer stated research questions, test hypotheses, and evaluate outcomes. (U.S. Dept. HHS)

Data Collection and Management Tools

Metadata Standards by Discipline from Research Data Alliance or from Digital Curation Centre

Metadata Tools by Discipline - from Research Data Alliance

Tools and Toolkits - from Digital Curation Centre

UCLA Library guide for Tools to Analyze and Manage Data

Data Collection Tools for Data Gathering

American Society for Quality Data Collection and Analysis Tools

Learning Space Toolkit - Data Gathering Tools

Teamscope - Mobile Data Collection Guide

Organization and File Naming Convention FNC

Directory

Hierarchical file folder/directory structure could include a file inventory (README file) as an aid.

File Naming Convention (FNC)

Stay organized; use a file naming convention (FNC) that makes it easier for everyone to identify file contents; group similar files together. Do not use special characters, spaces, periods (except file extension). 

     File Name without FNC                                    

          test_data_2020  (lacks components to help identify

          file detail)                           

     File Name using FNC

          202002015_NSFProj_test2_data_Heister_v2-03.xlsx

           (provides date, project, title, owner, version, format)