Film Websites
- Internet Movie Database (IMDb) - The world's most popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content. Indispensbale for tracking down credits and othe information about theatrical film, from the beginning of the movies to the present.
- Rotten Tomatoes - A website devoted to news, information, and reviews of films.
Meta Sites/Guides to Film Studies Sites - These sites list, and often evaluate, web sites relevant to research in Film Studies. See Databases A-Z for a full list of available databases.
- Media Resources Center, University of California at Berkeley - Webliography of work on film, video and television resources on the web. Includes bibliographies on selected individual directors and films. This is a static site and is no longer being maintained.
- Research Guide in Film Studies at Yale University - Focuses on doing film research at Yale; however, the selected bibliography of research tools and internet sites is excellent.
- Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences: Research and Preservation - Includes Academy Award database, acceptance speeches, archival collections, digital collections, posters, production art, and more.
- SCREENsite - Provides access to film and television resources through the Web and stresses the teaching and research of film and television.
- Voice of the Shuttle: Media Studies - A huge array of links to web sites devoted to the broad study of communication media of all types. Specific section on Film/Video.
- All-Movie Guide - Provides credits, plot synopses, biographical information and user-provided ratings.
Full Text Online
- Lantern - The search and visualization platform for over 800,000 pages of digitized texts from the the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound. An open access co-production of the Media History Digital Library and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Communication Arts.
- Media History Digital Library Magazine Collection - Public domain media periodicals dating back to 1903, providing online access to the histories of cinema, broadcasting, and recorded sound. For alternate search interface, see also above -- Lantern.
- Bright Lights Film Journal - Popular-academic hybrid of movie analysis, history, and commentary, looking at classic and commercial, independent, exploitation, and international film from a wide range of vantage points from the aesthetic to the political.
- Images - This online journal is a fusion of popular and academic approaches to film and popular culture.
- Screening the Past - An international electronic journal of visual media and history.
- Senses of Cinema: an Online Film Journal Devoted to the Serious and Eclectic Discussion of Cinema
- Simply Scripts - Provides searchable access to screenplays on the web.
Newspapers
Film Festivals
- Film Festival Research Network - A loose connection of scholars working on issues related to film festivals, aiming to make festival research more available, to connect its diverse aspects and to foster interdisciplinary exchange between researchers as well as festival professionals. Available research material is gathered in a bibliography.
Posters
Data/Tables
- The Numbers - The largest freely available database of movie industry information on the web. Market analysis coverage from 1995 to the present.
- Worldwide Box Office - Lists worldwide, domestic and overseas box office grosses from 1915-present. Searchable by film title.
- Box Office Mojo - Lists all time domestic and worldwide box office grosses. Searchable by film title.
