Encyclopedias and Historical Dictionaries
- Encyclopedia of German Literature - Ref. PT41 .E63 2000 or via the online Encyclopedia of German Literature.
- Oxford Companion to German Literature - PT 41 .G3 1997 - Brief articles on significant writers, works, themes, etc. in the history of German literature.
- Contemporary German Fiction - PT 772 .C59 1988 - From the Dictionary of Literary Biography series, a collection of critical essays on significant writers of German fiction since 1945. You can also access the entire Dictionary of Literary Biography online (see link below), which includes articles on authors from around the world.
- Handbook of Austrian Literature - PT 155 .U5 - Critical essays on significant Austrian writers.
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture - Ref. DD290.26 .E53 1999
- Modern Germany: an Encyclopedia of History, People, and Culture, 1871-1990 - Ref. DD14 .M64 1998 - Includes articles on personalities, events, and institutions, as well as literature, music, art, religion, science, philosophy, economics, technology, society, and the media. Each entry has a short bibliography.
- Historical Dictionary of Postwar German Literature - PT401 .G68 2009
- Historical Dictionary of German Cinema - PN1993.5.G3R417 2008
- Historical Dictionary of German Theater - PN2657.G73 2006
- Reallexikon der deutschen Literaturwissenschaft - PT41 .R42 1997 - Focuses on periods and types of German literature but not on individual authors. Many of the signed articles have extensive bibliographies.
Language Dictionaries and Lexikons
- German Dictionaries, etc. - PF 3001-5999
- Statistisches Jahrbuch fuer die Bundesrepublik Deutschland (CD-ROM) - Olin Media Center HA 1232 .A45 - Available for 2000-2005. Geographic, population, financial, and social statistics for Germany.