Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Spanish: Encyclopedias / Dictionaries / Etc

Library and internet resources for studying Spanish language and literature

Reference (Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc)

Encyclopedias

  • Gran Enciclopedia RIALP - REF AE 61 G75

Dictionaries

  • Lagenscheidt Spanish-English, English-Spanish Dictionary - REF PC 4640 .S596 1988
  • bab.la Dictionary - bab.la is a language portal that offers dictionary translations, language quizzes & games and vocabulary lessons for learning.
  • Spanish Dictionaries Online

Guides/Summaries

  • Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Literature in the United States: Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, etc. - REF PQ7420.2 .K3 1989
  • Cambridge History of Latin American Literature - - Ref PQ7081.A1 C35 1996
  • Contemporary Authors - Contemporary Literary Criticism - Dictionary of Literary Biography - Biographical and critical information.
  • Dictionary of Mexican Literature - REF PQ 7106 .D53 1992
  • Dictionary of the Literature of the Iberian peninsula - REF PN849.S6 D54 1993
  • Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature - REF PQ 7081 .A1 E53 1997
  • Latin American Writers - REF PQ7081 .A1 L37 1989 3 vols.
  • Modern Latin American Literature - REF PQ7081 .F63 1975 2vols.
  • Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature - REF PQ6006 .o94
  • Spanish American Women Writers - REF Z 1609 .L7 S6 1990.
  • Spanish Women Writers - REF PQ 6055 .S63 1993.
  • Year's Work in Modern Language Studies - REF PB1 .Y45 - Annual review evaluating scholarly work on languages and literatures other than English.

Bibliographies

  • Spanish Literature, 1500-1700 : a Bibliography of Golden Age Studies in Spanish - Ref Z2692 .M67 1984

Art and Reference Librarian