LibGuides: Government/Political Science: News Resources

News bias/accuracy check

Allsides
Expose people to information and ideas from all sides of the political spectrum so they can better understand the world — and each other
Factcheck.org
We are a nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.
Politifact
Fact-checking journalism is the heart of PolitiFact. Our core principles are independence, transparency, fairness, thorough reporting and clear writing. The reason we publish is to give citizens the information they need to govern themselves in a democracy.

Newspapers

National Newspapers Collection - Current Editions This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles from the current editions of the Chicago Tribune (1985-), Los Angeles Times (1985-), New York Times (1980-), Wall Street Journal (1984-), and Washington Post (1987-).
LexisNexis This link opens in a new window
General, U.S. and world news, arts and entertainment, business and financial news, legal news, law reviews, state and Federal case law, Federal code, patents since 1971, selected reference information. Coverage varies by title; most coverage begins in mid-1980s.
Newsbank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full text access to current news sources (print and online newspapers, blogs, newswires, magazines, broadcast transcripts) from around the world covering local, regional, national, and international levels. Includes the Middletown Press (2017-current). Coverage varies by title, from 1980s to current
Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals This link opens in a new window
A collection of US and British papers that represent Communism, Socialism, and Marxism as alternative visions of organizing society. Based in the philosophy of Karl Marx, his critique of political economy, and Marx’s belief in social politics, it addresses issues of the 20th Century such as: the working class, labor conditions, unionism, post-WWII McCarthyism, and Nazi crimes against humanity.
American Prison Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers published within a prison by incarcerated persons. Includes examples from papers published between 1800 and 2020, representing penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.