LibGuides: Latin American / Caribbean Studies: Articles/Databases

Find Articles in Academic Journals and Newspapers

Academic Search Premier
Citations and many full text academic journal and magazine articles. Includes also some articles from trade publications and newspapers. Covers all subject areas. 1880s-current

Here are a few indexes and databases available to our library which are most likely to be useful for research in Latin American Studies. Remember that in an interdisciplinary field, indexes for art, economics, literature, sociology, and other disciplines may also be worth investigation. I would particularly recommend the Handbook of Latin American Studies and the Hispanic American Periodicals Index for initial, broad-based searches, or, try out the Library's OneSearch (bottom box), which searches most of the extensive indexes and databases to which the library has access.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also a source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Web)
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Journal articles covering world history (excluding United States and Canada) from 1450 to present.
MLA International Bibliography
A detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations. Subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
PAIS Index
Journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, Internet material, and more. Chronicling world’s public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. 1915 to present.

Library OneSearch

Use the library's OneSearch to locate articles and other materials available to the Wesleyan University Library. This powerful search tool includes most of the databases to which the library has access and most articles are full-text. Any inaccessible articles may be requested via Interlibrary Loan, for which you need an ILLiad account.