Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Middletown History Resources

Sources of information about the history of Middletown and surrounding area.

Maps

Listed in chronolgical order.

Middletown, Connecticut: lower houses, homelots and farmlots, 1650-1664
Map created in 1981. Digital version, Connecticut History Illustrated

Middletown, 1790-1800
From Beers' History of Middletown (1885). Digital version, The Internet Archive

Middletown, 1825
Digital version, Connecticut History Illustrated

Middletown, 1826
Map of a trigonometrical survey of the country in the vicinity of Middletown, Conn. Made by members of the American Literary, Scientific and Mathematical Academy under the direction of E. F. Johnson, instructor in practical matematics and philosophy. Olin Library, 1st floor, Information Commons, on wall.

Middletown, 1851
Digital version, Connecticut History Illustrated

Middlesex County, 1859
Special Collections & Archives reading room, on wall
Digital version, Library of Congress

Beers, F.W. County Atlas of Middlesex, Connecticut: From Actual Surveys. New York: F.W. Beers & Co., 1874.
Call Number: SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Middletown Oversize + B41 C6
Beers’ Atlas has standard atlas mapping and indicates property lines, structures, and ownership.
Digital version, The Internet Archive

Middletown, 1874
Digital version, UConn Libraries MAGIC Collection

View of Middletown, 1877
Special Collections & Archives director's office, on wall
Digital version, Library of Congress, UConn Libraries MAGIC Collection

Digital Sanborn Maps (Connecticut maps only), Middletown: 1884-1950
Provides access to digitized large-scale maps of Connecticut towns and cities containing such information as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Seven or eight different editions represent some areas.

Price, Lee & Co. Middletown maps, 1888-1927
Located in Special Collections, these maps were originally part of Middletown city directories noted, but were removed for preservation reasons in the 1970s. Most of the maps are printed on tissue-like paper, are fragile, and easily torn. Some of these have been digitized and are in the City of Middletown Planning, Conservation and Development Document Library in the historical reports and maps section.

Middletown, 1893
Digital version, UConn Libraries MAGIC Collection

U.S. Topo and Historical Topographical Map Collection (USGS), 1893-2012
Click here to get a list of 22 digitized detailed maps of Middletown. You can also access a selection of historical USGS maps of MIddletown on this UConn MAGIC page.

View of Middletown, 1915
Olin Library, ground floor east corridor, on wall
Digital version, Library of Congress, UConn Libraries MAGIC Collection

Adder Swamp Reservoir, Middletown, Conn., April, 1925
Call number SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Middletown (Map) M629 P51 1925

Greater Middletown Preservation Trust. Middletown, Connecticut: a survey of historical and architectural resources. Middletown, Conn.: The Trust, 1979. Maps showing surveyed buildings:

City of Middletown Planning, Conservation and Development Document Library

City of Middletown Planning, Conservation and Development Document Library

The Department of Planning, Conservation and Development maintains an online library that contains a large number of documents, maps, photos, and images that relate to historical topics.The library has been divided into sections, and maps are primarily found in these sections:

     Historical reports and maps
     Important maps
     Map vault

Maps are also found in the other sections, so it's worth your while to read through the lists if you're interested in a particular subject or area.