Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College of East Asian Studies: Find Articles

Find Journal Articles

Indexes & Databases - These indexes and databases are the ones most likely to be relevant to research in Religion. See Articles, Journals, and Databases for a complete list of indexes the library subscribes to.

  • Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) The on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index  Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.    
  • ABI/INFORM Complete The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
     
  • Academic Search Premier A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for 10,000+ publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to 5,000+ journals. 
     
  •  Asahi Shimbun via Kikuzo II Visual for Libraries Database Off campus access is available only through VPN. The Kikuzo II Visual for Libraries Database provides access to Asahi Shimbun: full text from 1984 to the present, Image Database from 1879 to 1989: Meiji and Taisho Periods (1879-1926), Pre-War Showa Period (1926-1945), Post-WWII Showa Period (1945-1989); Who?s Who; and a Historical Photo Archive for the Period between the 1930s and 1945.
  • China Academic Journals (CAJ) Full text articles from Chinese academic journals. Subject contents covers areas of Social Sciences and Humanities and consist of: 4 Series databases-- Literature/History/Philosophy, Politics/Military affairs/Law, Education/Social Sciences, Economics.
  • JapanKnowledge Library (+ NRK) JapanKnowledge + NRK (includes JapanKnowledge PlusN, and the Kokushi daijiten and the Nihon Rekishi chinei taikei). Additionally, it is a large collection of language dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical dictionaries, and other Japanese reference works for Japanese-only searches of historical terms and figures. It includes abbreviate version of the Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan in English and full-text coverage of the Toyo Bunko and Shan Ekonomisuto (Weekly Economist). PLEASE NOTE: 14 UNIVERSITIES, INCLUDING WESLEYAN, SHARE 12 SIMULTANEOUS USERS. PLEASE BE CONSIDERATE AND LOG OUT WHEN FINISHED.
  • MLA International Bibliography MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
  •  PAIS International The PAIS database contains references dating from 1915 to the present to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
  • Siku Quanshu  BFORE USING: 1) Can only be accessed with IE browser on a PC 2) Follow instructions at DOWNLOAD PAGE to enable access to content The Siku Quanshu was compiled between 1773 and 1782 under the edict of Emperor Qianlong of the Qing Dynasty, China. Containing more than 3,460 works with a total of more than 36,000 volumes, it is the most comprehensive collection of Chinese scholarship up to the 18th century. It covers a wide variety of subjects in the humanities, science, and social sciences. The electronic Siku Quanshu is the Wenyuange edition. It is a full-text retrieval system that includes the digitized texts as well as the images of the original pages of the entire Siku Quanshu and a few other useful tools.
  • Yomiuri Shinbun via Yomidas Rekishikan database YOMIDAS REKISHIKAN is the full text database of the Yomiuri Shinbun from its initial publication in 1874 to date, as well as full text of the Daily Yomiuri, its English language equivalent, and a biographical dictionary of modern Japanese figures. Articles are keyword indexed to 8/31/1986, and can be searched full-text from 9/1/1986 to present. 

Asian History Journals via BrowZine