- Ethnic NewsWatch [Current]
Ethnic NewsWatch features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990, ENW presents a comprehensive, full-text collection of nearly 1.6 million articles from more than 280 publications offering both national and regional coverage. While the content may mirror mainstream media coverage, the viewpoints are decidedly unique. Ethnic NewsWatch delivers hundreds of ethnocentric publications. The voices of the Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European, and multi-ethnic communities can be heard. Titles include New York Amsterdam News, Asian Week, Jewish Exponent, Seminole Tribune, and many more. A majority of this content is exclusive to ENW and not available in any other database.
- Factiva
Provides essential business news and information together with the content delivery tools and services that enable professionals to make better decisions faster. Factiva's unrivalled collection of more than 10,000 authoritative sources includes the exclusive combination of The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, Dow Jones and Reuters newswires and the Associated Press, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B company profiles. (PLEASE LOG OUT after use since Wesleyan has only 2 user seats for this resource.)
- Newspaper Source Plus
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
- New York Times (Historical backfile from 1851 through the most recent 4 years)
Full page and article digital images from all available issues of The New York Times beginning with the first issue in 1851.
- New York Times (Merged Historical & Current access)
Merged Historical & Current access. Full page and article digital images from all available issues of The New York Times beginning with the first issue in 1851 through 2007. 2008- access is html only. Access to full page and article digital images is added each year.
- LexisNexis Academic
General, U.S. and world news, arts and entertainment, business and financial news, legal news, law reviews, state and Federal case law, Federal code, patents since 1971, selected reference information. Newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works. Coverage varies by title; most coverage begins in mid-1980s.
- Wall Street Journal (Current file 1980-)
The Wall Street Journal is considered the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide.
- Wall Street Journal (Historical backfile from 1889 through the most recent 18 years)
The first issue of The Wall Street Journal was four pages long and sold for two cents. Today, the paper is considered the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide.
- Wall Street Journal (Merged Historical & Current Access)
Merged Historical and Current access. Full page and article digital images from all available issues of The Wall Street Journal beginning with the first issue in 1889 through 1993. 1984 - access is html only. Access to full page and article digital images is added each year.
- Washington Post (Historical backfile from 1877 through the most recent 16 years)
The Post was the first newspaper in Washington to publish seven days a week. Early contributors included Joseph Pulitzer and a relatively unknown, un-bylined Theodore Roosevelt, who contributed stories about the West. Beginning in the 1940s, the newspaper featured editorial cartoonist Herbert L. Block (?Herblock?), who used his drawings to express indignation with political leaders and to ?raise hell.? He coined the term ?McCarthyism? in the 1950s and was unrelenting in his graphic characterization of Richard Nixon. Known for its comprehensive political reporting, first-rate photo essays, Pulitzer Prize-winning editorial writing, and unmatched investigative reporting, the historical Washington Post is an unparalleled resource for today?s budding journalists, political historians, and students of government.
