Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Korean Politics Through Film (CEAS206): Data

This course explores the contemporary politics of Korea through academic sources and films. Students will discover how the tumultuous history of modern Korea has contributed to the present political conditions in South and North Korea.

Archives, Records & Statistics

CIA - The World Factbook - Korea, South

IDEA: International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance
Provides four databases with data organized by country:

The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Has the world's largest archive of computerized social science data.

Korea Democracy Foundation Open Archive
Provides historical documents, images, and oral statements regarding the Korean democracy movement, provided by the Korean Democracy Foundation.

Korea Open Data Portal

National Archives of Korea (Presidential Records)

국회 전자 도서관 - 참고데이터DB (ex: 북한의 추정 GDP 및 1인당 GDP. 2000-2013)

국회 전자 도서관 (ex:Korea statistical yearbook = Han'guk t'onggye yŏn'gam, 한국통계연감

북한연표 - 한국사데이터베이스 - 국사편찬위원회

성인지통계(Genter Statistics in Korea)

연표 - 한국역사정보통합시스템

LABORSTA Internet

OCED Data - Korea (Country Statistical Profile)

Paul Hensel's International Relations Data Site
Maintained by Paul Hensel of the Department of Political Science at the University of North Texas.  This website points to seven pages of links, and includes useful sources related to processes of international conflict and cooperation.

Polling the Nations 

Social and Opinion Research Database (SORD)
Maintained at Sapporo Gakuen University, this site provides data collected from social surveys directed by members of JSS (The Japan Sociological Society); in English and Japanese.

Social Science Data Analysis Network
The Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) is a university-based organization that creates demographic media, such as user guides, web sites, and hands-on classroom computer materials that make U.S. census data accessible to policymakers, educators, the media, and informed citizens. SSDAN is directed by demographer William H. Frey and utilizes facilities at the Population Studies Center, University of Michigan. SSDAN activities have been supported by the National Science Foundation, the Annie E. Casey Foundation, the U.S. Department of Education Fund for the Improvement of Post Secondary Education (FIPSE), the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD), the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, Public Data Queries, Inc., and the U.S. Census Bureau. 

UNCTADstat
UNCTADstat provides free access to comprehensive statistical time series and indicators essential for the analysis of world trade, development, and interrelated issues.  

UNdata
Statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of topics including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.  

World Databank