ArchitectureArt, Art Museums, Commercial Sites for Art ImagesClassicsCurrent Events ImagesDanceGeneralGraphic DesignHistoryImage Search EnginesMapsMuseum and Library Image CollectionsMusicPhotographyReligionSciencesTheaterWesleyan Image CollectionsWesleyan Licensed Databases
ARTstor Offline Image ViewerPowerPoint
Indexes to Art Reproductions in BooksVia the Library Catalog
This is the "Home" page of the "Finding and Using Images" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding and Using Images  

Links to online image databases and websites; suggestions on searching for images in print publications; tools for presenting images; information on citing images; and guides to copyright information
Last Updated: Jan 29, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wesleyan.edu/findingimages Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Major Image Sources

Listed below are some major sources for finding images.  This is just a starting place.  Use the Image Databases and Websites tab to search by subject categories.   Use the Books and Journals tabs to search for images in those formats.

  • ARTstor
    Close to a million images and associated catalog data from many time periods and cultures. The ARTstor Digital Library serves users both within the arts and in disciplines outside the arts.
  • AP Images
    An international photo archive of 700,000 images from the Associated Press' current year's photo reports and a selection from their 50 million image print and negative library.
  • Wikimedia Commons
    Search or browse this database of over 2,000,000 freely usable image (and other media) files organized by topic location and type.
  • Picsearch
    An image search service with more than 3,000,000,000 pictures.
  • Oaister (Open Archives Initiative)
    A union catalog of digital resources from over 1,000 contributors. To find digital images, just add "cntnt" to your search term; for example: yosemite cntnt
  • Flickr
    An image and video hosting website which, as of June 2009, claims to host more that 6.3 billion images.

Comments/Questions?

Susanne Javorski
Contact Info
Art Library, Davison Art Center
(860) 685-3326
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip