Dictionary of Art / Grove Art Online - Olin Ref and Art Ref N 31 .D5 1996 - Print and online editions of the thirty-four volume work containing biographies of Western and non-Western artists, patrons, critics and collectors, in addition to major scholarly essays on art styles, cultures, subjects and media. Includes bibliographic references.
Encyclopedia of World Art - Olin Ref and Art Ref N 31 .E533 - Fifteen volume work providing scholarly overviews of terms, cultures and art styles. Includes bibliographic references.
Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture - Over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history.
Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques - Provides historical and current uses of materials and techniques in a wide range of areas from painting and sculpture to non-traditional media such as digital and video art.
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architecture - Art Ref NA 40 .M25 1982. 4 volumes - Discussion of architects and their works; lists works with dates and locations. Covers from ancient Egypt to persons born before 1931 or already deceased. Chronological table of architects and glossary of architectural terms.
Artcyclopedia - Entries for 9,000 artists and indexing to 2,900 art sites. Search by artist’s name, title of a work, or museum. Browse by name, art movement, subject, nationality, medium, or gender. Use the world map to find links to art museums with online exhibits.
SAH-Archipedia - An encyclopedia of the U.S. built environment organized by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press. It contains histories, photographs and maps for over 20,000 structures and places.
Dictionaries
Allgemeines Lexikon der bildenden Kunstler von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart (Thieme / Becker) - Art Ref N 40 .A64 1978. - Thirty-seven volume biographical work in German with multilingual bibliographical citations.
Dictionary of Art Historians - Biographical and methodological information about art historians. This database is designed to give researchers a beginning point to learning the background of major art historians of western art history.
The Oxford Dictionary of Art - Art Ref N 33 .O93 1997. - An overview of Western art forms and of individual artists from antiquity to the present.
The Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists - Art Ref N 33 .L353 2000. - Dealing with all aspects of Western art from 1300 to the present day, the dictionary provides information on painters, sculptors, and graphic artists, technical processes, terminology, theory, schools, movements, patrons and collecting.
Guides/Summaries
Art Information: Research Methods and Resources - Art Ref N 85 .J64 1990 - An invaluable tool for developing efficient art research techniques and for locating a wide variety of bibliographic references.
Artist Biographies Master Index - Art Ref N 40 .A78 1986 - Reference book of reference books identifying sources for biographical information.
Contemporary architects - Art Ref NA 680 C625 1994 - Data on internationally famous architects who worked from 1920 to 1993.
Contemporary artists - Art Ref N 6490 .C6567 - Includes exhibitions, bibliographies, critical essays and sometimes artistsÂ’ statements.
Contemporary photographers - Art Ref TR 139 .C664 1995 - Best source for contemporary people. Lists exhibitions, collections and publications.
Short guide to writing about art / Sylvan Barnet - Art Ref N 7476 .B37 2000 - Addresses such topics as: description versus analysis, critical approaches to art, organizing a comparison and documenting sources.
Who was who in American art1574-1975: 400 years of artists in America - Art Ref N6536 .W56 1999 - Contains data on artists during those years.
Arts in America: a Bibliography - Art Ref Z 5961 .U5 A77. 4 volumes - Most comprehensive annotated bibliography of American art.
250 Years of Afro-American Art: an Annotated Bibliography - Art Ref. Z 5956 .A47 .I38 - Comprehensive bibliography of Afro-American artists, artworks, and art history. Includes citations to scholarly and popular references, as well as primary sources.
Guide to the Literature of Art History - Art Ref Z 5931 .A67 - Basic art bibliography for subject research in the field of art history. Major subjects included are painting, sculpture, architecture, prints, drawings, photography and the decorative arts.
History of photography: bibliography of books - Art Ref Z 7134 .R66 1989. 3 volumes - Deals with photographers (born before 1914) and their work, as well as photography and its history.
Worldwide bibliography of art exhibition catalogues 1963-87 - Art Ref Z 5939 W675 1992 - A selective compilation of more than 17,500 catalogues from museums and galleries throughout the world produced over a 25 year period from 1963-1987.
Images
ARTstor - Digital images of works of art and other cultural materials, descriptive information about the works recorded in these images, and tools to work with the images and their documentation. ARTstor currently includes close to 1,000,000 digital images ranging from standard art history survey material to specialized collections.
The Bridgeman Art Library - Thousands of artists, styles and subjects are represented in an extensive archive of images of painting, sculpture, architecture and the decorative arts.
World Painting Index - Art Ref ND 45 H38 and supplements. This index helps identify publications which include reproductions of paintings and, depending on the publication, descriptions or commentaries specific to the individual painting.
