Citations and abstracts to publications on all aspects of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers journal articles, books, dissertations, and other publications from 1964 to the present.

Digital collections covering a broad range of multi-disciplinary topics from the Middle Ages forward – from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Includes U.S. foreign policy; U.S. Civil Rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history.

The primary index for languages and literatures, including African American literature.

Full text of plays by black playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. Mid-1800s-current

Scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), six Black historical newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.

Important and Rare Periodicals from Confederate, Union, Abolitionist, and British Presses. The 49 publications present four viewpoints: Union, Confederate, Abolitionist, and British. The database also contains a sample selection of 600 letters from The American Civil War Letters and Diaries: 300 Union and 300 Confederate. These publications allow users to follow the election of Lincoln in 1860, the subsequent course of the Civil War from Fort Sumter through Appomattox, Lincoln's re-election in 1864, his assassination in 1865, and the beginning of Reconstruction under President Andrew Johnson.

Pamphlets and Newspapers expanding on individual perspectives of government officials, clergy, social reformists, the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties, and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves. Dates covered 1840-1865

A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time, Sabin Americana, 1500?1926 is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Sabin Americana, 1500?1926 is rich in original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, religious history and more. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, this fully searchable digital archive is an essential tool for the study of the western hemisphere. It provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and momentous events of the times.

Modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring poems by some of the most important African American poets of the last century.

Full text newspapers, magazines, and reports and annuals from African American religious organizations that document the history of African American religious life and culture between 1829 and 1922.

Image-based government document and legal research database. Coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.

Digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary sources with a focus on the Black Freedom Movement of the 20th Century, Southern Life and Slavery, Women's Rights, International Relations, American Politics and Society with a strong focus on labor unions, workers and radical politics in the 20th Century

Periodicals and magazines from the USA and Canada from the colonial period through to the twentieth century. Includes unusual and short-lived magazines as well as better-known titles with long runs. Themes include the growing tensions between colonists and their oversea rulers, the Industrial Revolution, immigration, women’s rights, World War I, as well as fashion and music during the Roaring Twenties. Search here if you are in need of primary sources based in the USA and Canada.