Encyclopedias

International Encyclopedia of Dance (GV1585 .I586) - A 6-volume set which, in addition to general dance topics, has good coverage of both Western and non-Western dance and composers who wrote music for dance.

Dictionaries

International Dictionary of Ballet (GV1585 .I57 1993) - A 2-volume set, primarily a source for names of persons and titles of works.

International Dictionary of Modern Dance (GV1585 .I58 1998) - A single volume work, similar in format to the International Dictionary of Ballet.

Biographical Dictionary of Dance (GV1785 .A1 C58) - A biographical source primarily of Western dance traditions, but includes many names not found in the International Encyclopedia of Dance.

Dictionary of the Dance (GV1585 .R3 1965) - A dated but still valuable source of dance terminology definitions, with brief paragraphs for each entry.

Dance words (GV1585 .P74 1995) - A glossary of dance terms and phrases, arranged alphabetically within subject headings. Each definition is attributed to a specific oral or written source, documented in the bibliography.

Bibliographies

Dance: An Annotated Bibliography, 1965-1982 (Z7514.D2 F58) - Somewhat dated, but includes references to a wide variety of books and articles on dance in general.

Dancers and Choreographers: A Selected Bibliography (Z7514 .D2 G48 1992) - An index of books and articles on people, ranging from a single reference for some entries to 10 pages on Balanchine.

Other

Dance Research Journal (GV 1580 .C65a) - A semiannual journal issued by the Committee on Research in Dance.