Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Physics Reference Sources
All resources listed without links are print resources located in the Reference section on the main level of the Science Library.
- Encyclopedia of Physics - QC 5 E545 - Good basic accessible physics encyclopedia, 1 to 4 page articles with illustrations and bibliographies.
- McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Physics - QC 5 M425 - Another basic accessible physics encyclopedia, with 1 to 4 page articles with illustrations and bibliographies.
- McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Physics - QC 5 M424 - Accessible physics dictionary, includes acronyms and abbreviations, some illustrations.
- Penguin Dictionary of Physics (also in print: QC5 .P46 2000) - provides clear and concise definitions for every area of physics - from optics and acoustics to mechanics and electronics, via quantum theory and relativity.
- The Physics Quick Reference Guide - QC 61 C65 - Formulas, properties, conversions, constants, etc.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (also in print: QD65 .H23) - A classic and extensive source for physical constants, chemical properties and other data pertaining to chemistry and physics. Data is displayed in tables; the handbook is updated annually.
Physical Reference Data
- Compiled and provided by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).
Ask a Librarian
Other ways to contact us: