Indexes & Databases - These indexes and databases are the ones most likely to be relevant to research in Government. See Indexes and Databases for a full list of available online databases.
Journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, Internet material, and more. Chronicling world’s public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. 1915 to present.
Image-based government document and legal research database. Coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.
To access all the content and services available to Wesleyan users, including the ability to download all public domain volumes either one page at a time or in their entirety, you must first log in by following these steps: 1. Go to the Hathi Trust link (above). 2. Click on the yellow 'Log In' button. 3. Select Wesleyan University from the drop-down menu and click 'Continue.' 4. You will be redirected to login with your Wesleyan username/password' The Hathi-Trust (pronounced 'hah-tee') is a partnership of libraries and research institutions that have come together to build and share a digital repository of print works. Begun in 2008, the goal of the partnership is to build a comprehensive archive of published literature from around the world. The Hathi Trust has pursued this goal chiefly by digitizing materials like books and journals from major library collections and other partners,such as Google, the Internet Archive, and Microsoft. Wesleyan University Library joined in 2016.
Source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also a source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video.
Full text articles from newspapers, magazines, and other sources, covering a wide range of subjects including political, governmental and legal information.
Citations and many full text academic journal and magazine articles. Includes also some articles from trade publications and newspapers. Covers all subject areas. 1880s-current
Offers access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress, including: an index of congressional publications from 1970 to the present, Legislative Histories for public laws since 1970, testimony from congressional hearings, legislative histories, Congressional Record, Federal Register, and National Journal. Full text of many publications included.
Information on the US Congress: access to abstracts and indexing for Hearings, Reports, Documents and Committee prints from 1970-present (there are links to HTML text from approximately the mid-1990s); bill tracking & profiles, bill text, members and committee coverage, the Daily Congressional Record and the Code of Federal Regulations and Federal Register, and political news. Formerly known as: Congressional Information Service (CIS)
Legislative and executive documents from the first 14 U.S. Congresses, from 1789-1817. Includes papers on foreign relations; Indigenous peoples; finance; commerce and navigation; military and naval affairs; genealogy; and political, social, cultural, and ethnic history.
Papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Also included is a digitised version of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739, which contains bibliographic records and extracts for thousands of additional documents.
Declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century.
Full text of articles from the current editions of the Chicago Tribune (1985-), Los Angeles Times (1985-), New York Times (1980-), Wall Street Journal (1984-), and Washington Post (1987-).
U.S. election data (tables, graphs, and maps) for presidential (1789-present), senatorial (1990+), and gubernatorial (1990+) elections. Data include candidates, parties, popular and electoral vote totals, voter turnout, and more. County-level data available for many years.
Multilateral treaties on deposit with the United Nations and bilateral and multilateral treaties registered with and published by the United Nations in accordance with article 102.
Full text database for legal research containing legal news, law reviews and journals, and primary sources such as the US Code, federal and state court cases, federal and state statutes and regulations, the Code of Federal Regulations, and the Federal Register.
