LibGuides: History: Articles

Find Journal Articles

Indexes & Databases - These indexes and databases are the ones most likely to be relevant to research in History. See Indexes and Databases for a full list of available online databases.

Academic Search Premier
Citations and many full text academic journal and magazine articles. Includes also some articles from trade publications and newspapers. Covers all subject areas. 1880s-current
African American Historical Serials
Full text newspapers, magazines, and reports and annuals from African American religious organizations that document the history of African American religious life and culture between 1829 and 1922.
America: History & Life (EBSCO)

Journal articles, books, dissertations, and book reviews, among other materials, relating to the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
AM Explorer

Full text primary sources especially pertinent to American and world history, literature and culture. Spanning the 15th - 21st century. Digitized documents include: manuscripts and typescript letters, diaries, notebooks, journals, newspapers, art, illustrations, photographs, video and 360-degree objects.

Collections: 1980s Culture and Society; Africa and the New Imperialism; African American Communities; Age of Exploration; American in World War Two; American Committee on Africa; American History, 1493-1945; American West; Amnesty International Archives; Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1994; British Newsreels, 1911-1930; Broadcasting America; Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan, 1834-1922; Children's Literature and Culture; China, America and the Pacific; China: Culture and Society; China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980; Church Missionary Society Periodicals; Colonial America; Colonial Caribbean; Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966; Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969; Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969; Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961; Conflict in Indochina: Foreign Office Files for Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia; Defining Gender; Early Modern England; East India Company; Eighteenth Century Drama; Eighteenth Century Journals; Empire Online; Ethnomusicology; Everyday Life & Women in America, c1800-1920; First World War Portal; Food and Drink in History; Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980; Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanstan, 1947-1980; Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952; Foreign Office Files for Southeast Asia, 1963-1980; Foreign Office Files for the Middle East, 1971-1981; Frontier Life; Gender: Identity and Social Change; Global Commodities; Hindi Cinema; India, Raj and Empire; Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America; Indigenous Newspapers in North America; Interwar Culture; J Walter Thompson: Advertising America; Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954; Leisure Travel and Mass Culture; Life at Sea: Seafaring in the Anglo-American Maritime World, 1600-1900; Literary Manuscripts Berg; Literary Manuscripts Leeds; Literary Print Culture, London Low Life; Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963; Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965; Mass Observation Online; Mass Observation Project; Medical Services and Warfare; Medieval Family Life; Medieval Travel Writing; Meije Japan; Mexico in History; Migration to New Worlds; Nineteenth Century Literary Society; Perdita Manuscripts, 1500-1700, Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975; Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900; Poverty, Philanthropy and Social Conditions in Victorian Britain; Race Relations in America; Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape; Royal Shakespeare Company Archives; Service Newspapers of World War Two; Sex & Sexuality; Shakespeare in Performance; Shakespeare's Globe Archive; Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice; Socialism on Film; The Gilded Age and Progressive Era; The Grand Tour; The Nixon Years, 1969-1974; The Olympic Movement; The Transformation of Shopping; Trade Catalogues and the American Home; Trade in Early Modern London; Travel Writing, Spectable and World History; Victorian Popular Culture; Victorians on Film; Virginia Company Archives; Women in The National Archives; Women's Voices and Life Writing; World's Fairs
Black Studies Center
Scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), six Black historical newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
China and the Modern World, Part 1: Missionary, sinology and Literary Periodicals, 1817-1949
English-language periodicals published in or about China during a period of over 130 years extending from 1817 until 1949, when the People’s Republic of China was founded. This corresponds to the periods of the late Qing Dynasty and the Republican Era (1911-1949), when China experienced radical and often traumatic transformations from an inward-looking imperial dynasty into a globally engaged republic with modern approaches to politics, literature, education, public morality, and intellectual life.
Gale News Vault
Historical archive of several significant British news sources such as The Times, Economist, Illustrated London News, Listener, and Punch.
GenderWatch
Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports covering the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over time. Archival material dates back to 1970 in some cases.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Journal articles covering world history (excluding United States and Canada) from 1450 to present.
Humanities Full Text and Humanities Index Retrospective
Humanities Full Text with retrospective index includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals, of which 470 are peer-reviewed, dating back to 1984. The retrospective portion of the index, dating between 1907-1984, offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
International Historical Statistics
Statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. The collection includes data on the Americas, Europe, Africa, Asia and Oceania. 1750 to 2010.
International Medieval Bibliography
Bibliography of articles about the Middle Ages. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. Relevant disciplines include Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, History of Education, Art History, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communications Studies. 1 simultaneous user only. Please close browser if you are no longer using the database.
Iter Bibliography
Citations for books and journal material including articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts, discographies, dissertation abstracts and essays, conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues. Covers the Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700. Content written 1784-current
Japan Times Archive
The Japan Times Archive provides up-to-the-minute coverage of what's happening in Japan — from news on politics and business to features on culture and entertainment —with in-depth analysis of and commentary on the issues of the day.
LGBT Life with Full Text
Academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications, newspapers, newsletters. Also indexes books, bibliographies, case studies, and dissertations. LGBT-specific literature, covering civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, and sociology.
PAIS Index
Journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, Internet material, and more. Chronicling world’s public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. 1915 to present.
Periodicals Archive Online
Full text of articles from scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Covers from about 1800 to about 15 years ago.
Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to Present
Primary source materials, writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (scholar's edition)
Digital library of high resolution images for instruction, study, and research in the arts, architecture, humanities and social sciences. The images have been contributed by museums, scholarly collections, photo archives, and artists' estates. Pre-history-21st century.
Black Life in America
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by US and global news sources, including Black publications. Wesleyan has access to Series 3, covering 1976 to the present.