Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Middletown History Resources

Sources of information about the history of Middletown and surrounding area.

Primary Sources

Special Collections & Archives

SC&A holds a significant collection of primary resources related to the history of Middletown and the surrounding area in its Middletown and other collections. Here, you will find such items as diaries and journals; city publications and reports; city directories; posters and broadsides; collections of published photographs; maps; and much more.

Many of the items can be found in the online library catalog. To look for items, type in your search terms in the box and click on the magnifying glass. After you obtain a list of results, click on "Library" in the gray column at left and then click on "WU - Special Collections & Archives." This will limit your results to what can be found in SC&A.

For more information on finding newspapers, images, and maps, click on the tabs above.

Vertical Files Collection, Special Collections & Archives

The SC&A Vertical Files Collection contains folders of material relating to thousands of topics, including Middletown and the surrounding area. Materials consist of both primary and secondary sources. See a staff member about selecting relevant files or view the finding aid:
http://www.wesleyan.edu/libr/schome/FAs/ve1000-176.xml

City of Middletown Planning, Conservation and Development Document Library

The Department of Planning, Conservation and Development maintains an online library that contains a large number of documents, maps, photos, and images that relate to historical topics.

Connecticut History Illustrated

Connecticut History Illustrated brings together the Connecticut history-related digital resources of libraries, archives, museums, galleries, historical societies and other cultural heritage institutions in Connecticut. It contains material as varied as the history of the state, from documents to images, from maps to audio and video covering the entire spectrum of work, play, and life in Connecticut.CHI makes it possible for students, teachers, scholars and the general public to discover and use all types of digitized and born digital material including still and moving images, documents, sound recordings, (including oral histories), maps, books, pamphlets, broadsides, paintings, and three-dimensional artifacts all relating to the history and culture of Connecticut from the 17th to the 21st century. These resources are free to use for personal enjoyment, reference, and educational purposes.The CHI contributing organizations represent three major communities–libraries, museums, and historical societies–who preserve and make accessible historical collections within the state of Connecticut. 

Newspapers, Images, and Maps

Click on the "Newspapers," "Images," and "Maps" tabs above to locate these materials.

Other Repositories

Click on the "Repositories" tab above to see a list of repositories that hold resources related to Middletown and the surrounding area.