Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Middle Eastern Studies: Encyclopedias / Dictionaries / Atlas

Dictionaries

  • Islamic Desk Reference -- Ref DS 35.53 I83  1994
  • Dictionary of Modern Arab History -- Ref DS 38.9 B53 1998
  • A Comprehensive Dictionary of the Middle East -- Ref Ds 43. H57  2013
  • Historical Dictionary of Iraq -- Ref DS 70.9.G47  2004

Atlas

  • The Historical Atlas of Islam -- In print Ref G 1786.S1 H6   also on CD Ask at Reserve Desk
  • Atlas of Islam 1800-2000 -- Ref G 1786.S1 B57  2010
  • The Routledge Atlas of the Arab-Israeli Conflict -- Ref G2236.S1 G52 2005
  • State of the Middle East 2nd ed. -- Ref G 2205.S6 2008
  • The New Atlas of the Arab World -- Ref DS 36.7. N48 2010
  • The Cultural Atlas of Islam -- DS 36.85 A39 1986
  • Cambridge Atlas of the Middle East and North Africa -- Ref DS 44.C36 1987
  • An Atlas of Middle Eastern Affairs -- Ref DS63.1 .A535 2010

Encyclopedias

  • Encyclopedia Iranica  a comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent. 
  • Conflict and Conquest in the Islamic World v. 1-2 -- Ref DS 38.3 C66  2011 Historical Encyclopedia
  • Index Islamicus  Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.
  • Islamic Desk Reference -- Ref DS 35.53 1994
  • Islamic Philosophy Online  We are dedicated to the study of the philosophical output of the Muslim world. This site contains hundreds of full-length books and articles on Islamic philosophy, ranging from the classical texts in the canon of Islamic philosophy to modern works of Muslim philosophy
  • The Encyclopedia of the Middle East Wars -- Ref DS 63.1. E453  v.1-5 2010  
  • The Internet Islamic History Sourcebook 
  • The Middle East and North Africa: Regional Surveys of the World -- Ref DS 41.M53  2008
  • The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World v. 1-6 -- Ref DS 35.53 O 95 2009
  • The New Cambridge History of Islam v. 1-6 -- Ref DS 35.6 C3 2010  Starts with late antiquity - society since 1800
  • Medieval Islamic Civilization v. 1-2 -- Ref DS 36.85 M434 2006
  • The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Middle East and Northern Africa -- Ref DS 44.C37 1988
  • Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa v. 1-4 -- Ref DS 43. E53  2004
  • A Political Chronology of the Middle East -- Ref DS 63.18.P67  2001
  • The Middle East -- Ref DS 63.1.M484  2011
  • Political Encyclopedia of the Middle East -- Ref DS 62.8.P64  1998
  • The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Politics -- Ref BP173.7.O94  v.1-2 2014