More than 7,000 historic public radio and television programs are now available for streaming and more content will be added periodically. In addition, the website provides data records for approximately 2.5 million items inventoried by public broadcasting stations for this project.

Episodes from the WGBH televsion history series

The AIFG presently contains over 450 non-fiction films that document Native lifeways from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego, with a large concentration on peoples of the Southwest. The films range from a 1922 silent newsreel to recent footage of pow-wows and political meetings in 2011.

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and MOVING IMAGES, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

Provides streaming videos on: "Working in the Theatre" - about the people who create theatre in New York and around the world.

AP Archive is the film and video archive of The Associated Press., one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent news gathering. The collection offers 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories, which date back to 1895.

Explore the human cultural heritage through streaming media. Check out the Video Guide for a listing of streaming videos available.

The Archive of American Television has conducted over 700 oral history interviews (over 3000 hours) with the legends of television.

British Movietone is a newsreel archive which spans the period 1895 to 1986. It is rich in coverage of news events, celebrities, sports, music, social history, science, and lifestyle.

A collection of Building + Design movies.

The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries.

Access to C-SPAN's daily coverage of public affairs & federal government proceedings and more than 200,000 hours of extensively indexed and archived C-SPAN video.

Over 25,000 videos from numerous U.S. educational and cultural institutions.

Built by a consortium of European audiovisual archives, public broadcasters, academic and technical partners EUscreen offers free online access to thousands of items of audiovisual heritage. It brings together clips that provide an insight into the social, cultural, political and economic events that have shaped the 20th and 21st centuries.

The EVIA (Ethnographic Video for Instruction & Analysis) Digital Archive Project, a joint effort of Indiana University and the University of Michigan, is a digital archive of ethnographic video.
PLEASE NOTE: Each user must create their own account before accessing the videos. The website will prompt you to create your own account.

Documentary films on American folk life including arts, crafts, costume, dance, drama, music and more

Free video lectures by some of the world's foremost scholars, authors, artists, scientists, policy makers, and community leaders. (WGBH)

Free on-demand streaming service attached to the Internet Movie Database website; however, there are commercials intermittently inserted.

The Archive's Moving Images library of free movies, films, and videos contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Internet Archive offers open source movies with Creative Commons Licenses. Be sure to read the licenses, which will specify how the films can be used.

Search options permit searching by a combination of elements: Category, Country, Year, Language, and Keyword. Categories include: Countries and Regions, Economic Outlook, Speeches and Interviews, Topics and Issues, among others.

Rich material on over 450 writers, poets, artists, cultural thinkers and activists.

Sixty-seven interviews from the nationally televised prime time television show, dating from 1957 and 1958. Interviewees include Salvador Dali, Frank Lloyd Wright, Aldous Huxley, Erich Fromm, Margaret Sanger and Henry Kissinger among other notables.

The Library's multimedia collection is a truly unique collection of material on U.S. public policy. The Library's multimedia archive includes more than 2,500 hours of secret White House recordings, hundreds of presidential oral history interviews, audio and video recordings of Miller Center Forums, and documents related to the executive branch of American government.

Watch hundreds of films free online: documentaries, animation and alternative dramas.

Topics include geography, archaeology and natural science, and the promotion of environmental and historical conservation.

The best free cultural & educational media on the web. Over 400 free movies online -- great classics, indies, noir, westerns, and more.

Showcases popular music legends and innovators from all genres.

Explores and illuminates the critical issues of our times - from business and health to social issues, politics and war.

Diverse programming portfolio of classical music, opera, popular song, musical theater, dance, drama, and performance documentaries. PBS membership required.

Natural history films.

Explores innovations and discoveries from the world of science and technology while highlighting the human side of science.

Longest-running showcase for independent non-fiction films.

Source for Russian films (sub-titled) which are hosted by YouTube, Vimeo and DailyMotion.

Southern California Institute of Architecture Media Archives consists of over 600 videos of lectures held at SCI-Arc from 1974 to the present, featuring over 700 speakers. Over 3300 different topics have been identified in the lectures with an emphasis on architecture and design issues. The speakers include the most significant architects, designers, and theorists of the last four decades.

Contains multimedia videos highlighting the U.S. Department of Energy's scientific research.

Programs feature prominent doctors presenting the latest health research.

Approximately 500 films are curently available for viewing on the Hebrew University's You Tube Channel in full for free.

Makes available the best talks and performances from TED and partners. More than 500 TEDTalks are now available, with more added each week.

All 56 Thanhouser full-length films are available for viewing at no charge.

A subset of the Internet Archive launched in September 2012, this research library service enables users to search, quote and borrow U.S. TV news programs. Available at no charge, the public can use the index of searchable text and short streamed clips (since 2009) to explore TV news.

A large web-based educational resource for avant-garde material available on the internet. It includes film & video, sound, dance, visual poetry and more.

V&A Channel is the V&A's on-line film Magazine... This is where you can find films from every corner of the museum.

Listings, summaries and descriptions of 30,000+ individual network evening news broadcasts and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming. Searching is free, but there is a fee to download video.

An ad-free video platform providing free video viewing services as a competitor to YouTube.

Home of WGBH Media Library and Archives that provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. Search for Media Type: Video.

Discover, watch and share originally-created videos. Content ranges from home movies to historical footage from the Associated Press (AP Archive) and British Movietone.