Audio files (MP3 format) of traditional and popular music and spoken word, from Africa and the global diaspora. Includes highlife, jazz, hip hop, jùjú, hiplife, zouk, mbalax, and reggae. Published by Africa Resource Center. Part of Africa Knowledge Project.
High resolution digital images for instruction, study, and research in the arts, architecture, humanities and social sciences. Images have been contributed by museums, scholarly collections, photo archives, and artists' estates. Pre-history-21st century. When prompted, create an ARTstor login or use your existing ARTstor login for access.
As of August 2024, Artstor content and key functionality are now accessed from JSTOR.
Dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
This is a great tool to find recording although many require a fee to purchase. Once you obtain a title you should use google or your favorite music streaming service to see if you can locate it for free.
Scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), six Black historical newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
Source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also a source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video.
Statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. The collection includes data on the Americas, Europe, Africa, Asia and Oceania. 1750 to 2010.
Journal articles in the social sciences. Search by topic or use Cited Reference Search to discover what publications have cited a specific article. 1900-current
Academic research, journals, and information in a range of disciplines on Africa and its Diaspora. Includes African Studies, Criminology, Justice Studies, Art, Women studies, Philosophy, Culture, Politics, Music, The Biafran War and Kiswahili.
Bibliography for monographs, chapters in edited volumes, journal articles, and pamphlets covering all regions of Africa. Topics connected to African Studies as well as History, Sociology, Economics, and Earth & Environmental Science. Time period 1984 to 2017
Citations and many full text academic journal and magazine articles. Includes also some articles from trade publications and newspapers. Covers all subject areas. 1880s-current
A detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations. Subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
