LibGuides: Hist/STS 161: Home

Search Strategies

Manresa Island Specific Search Terms Books

Manresa Island site report power plants--Connecticut
Manresa Island power plant environmental impact environmental policy--Connecticut
Norwalk Harbor pollution Long Island Sound--Environmental Conditions
Connecticut DEEP Manresa Island energy development--New England
EPA cleanup Connecticut power plant
Northeast utilities site remediation
Connecticut Light and Power Manresa
Norwalk environmental protests
Manresa Island redevelopment
Long Island Sound industrial pollution
Save the Sound
Norwalk industrial zoning maps
Coastal Connecticut land use maps

General terms

Fossil fuel infrastructure
Oil and gas pipelines
Natural gas distribution system
Petroleum refineries
Coal power plants infrastructure
Liquefied natural gas terminals OR LGN
Fossil fuel subsidies
Energy infrastructure policy
Pipeline regulation
Fossil fuel infrastructure emissions
Refinery pollution health impacts
Coal ash disposal sites
Climate risks to fossil fuel infrastructure

Search Tips

Combine search terms using AND, OR, NOT
Use " " to force terms to be searched as a phrase
Check out the advanced search options for using symbols such as * or ? to truncate terms or allow wildcard for letters. (organiz* or gr?y)
Use subject heading or terms whenever possible
Look at reference from useful resources as well as who cited them.

Secondary Sources

Search the Library Catalog

OneSearch from the library home page. This tool will find books, articles, streaming media, images, government documents, special collections & archives and many other items. You can start with keywords, author/creator names, article or book titles, or subject headings. From the result screen you can narrow your search with filters on the left side or you can click on titles to learn more information about the item.

Search Google Scholar

Searches academic literature. Has a cited by feature that allows you to see who used the current resource as a reference for their own research. It is a way to see how a conversation has moved forward.

Search the web

Using google type in your subject such as fossil fuels then add site:.org or site:.gov to have results from only those domain names.
Use google to search your topic and add terms such as "think tanks" or "mapping tools"

Databases

Web of Science
Journal articles and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Search by topic or discover what publications have cited a specific article. Journals 1900-current; Proceedings 1990-current
GreenFILE
Scholarly and general interest journals, and government documents and reports focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. 1913-current
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
Scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Covers topics such as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses. Searches the following databases: AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS). Coverage varies by database. Agricola 1970-current
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Full text of articles from a wide range of academic journals in the humanities and social sciences. 1920–current.

Primary Sources

Websites

EPA Enforcement & Compliance History. (ECHO)
Search for fossil fuel facilities by location and access compliance and emissions data
EPA Envirofacts
Database of facility-level environmental data
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
Permits, environmental impact statements and project dockets
US Energy Information Administration (EIA)
Historical and current data on energy generation and infrastructure.
US Department of Energy
Congress.gov
Search topic then look to left side of screen to limit to type of resources. CRS reports are one type of resource that might be useful.
GovInfo
Congressional hearings, reports, and policy documents
CT Department of Energy & Environmental Protection (DEEP)
Reports on power plants, remediation, and permitting
NESCAUM (Northeast States for Coordinated Air Use Management)
EPA Toxics Release Inventory (TRI)
a resource for learning about toxic chemical releases and pollution prevention activities reported by industrial and federal facilities
Brookings Institute
a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C. Our mission is to conduct in-depth, nonpartisan research to improve policy and governance at local, national, and global levels.

Databases

Newspapers

National Newspapers Collection - Current Editions
Full text of articles from the current editions of the Chicago Tribune (1985-), Los Angeles Times (1985-), New York Times (1980-), Wall Street Journal (1984-), and Washington Post (1987-).
Hartford Courant (Merged Historical and Current access)
Full text articles from the first issue in 1764 - current
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Cross-searchable access to the complete contents of the following sixteen (16) historical newspapers. Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Boston Globe (1872-1994); Chicago Defender (1909-1975); Chicago Tribune (1849-1999); Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991); Hartford Courant (1764-1998); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Los Angeles Times (1881-2000); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); New York Times (1851-2020); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Wall Street Journal (1889-2012), Washington Post (1877-2007).
Ethnic NewsWatch (Fulltext)
Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press with both national and regional coverage. Expressing voices of the Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European, and multi-ethnic communities beginning in 1990.

Other Primary Source Databases

Environmental History: Conservation and Public Policy in America, 1870-1980
Documents the emergence of environmental concerns from different aspects of conservation and environmental public policy in North America in the modern era. The archive concentrates particularly on the role of various government agencies, conservation organizations and individual actors who pioneered the study of the natural environment and campaigned for its protection.
Digital Sanborn Maps: CONNECTICUT Maps Only
Digitized large-scale, detailed maps of Connecticut towns and cities in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created for fire insurance companies assessing risk, they list street numbers of properties, outlines of buildings, and details about things such as building uses and construction materials and methods.

USGS Historical Topographic Maps