Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Korean Politics Through Film (CEAS206): Korean Films

This course explores the contemporary politics of Korea through academic sources and films. Students will discover how the tumultuous history of modern Korea has contributed to the present political conditions in South and North Korea.

Welcome to the Korean films guide!

As complex as it's history, Korean film industry has undergone many turning points from late Choson period to current days. Darcy Paquet's Short History of Korean Film outlines major events and periods of Korean film. 

Films

Assassination (Olin Reserve PN1997 .A77 2015)
The Attorney, 변호인
(Olin Reserve)
A little pond, 작은 연못 (Olin Reserve - DS918.16 .K652 2011)
Cart, 카트 (Olin Reserve - PN1997 .K388 2015)
Dear Pyongyang (Olin Reserve Desk - DS832.7.K6 D43 2010)
May 18, 화려한 휴가 (Olin Reserve Desk - PN1997 .H95 2010)
North Korea Beyond the DMZ (Olin Reserve - DS935.55 .N67 2003)
The President’s Barber, 효자동이발사 (Olin Reserve - PN1997 .H9565 2004)
Repatriation, 송환 (Olin Reserve)
A State of Mind (Olin Reserve - GV464 .S7384 2006)
The Unfair, 소수의견 (Olin Reserve)

Databases

Asian Film Online: Volume I and II Asian Film Online offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker.  
Bibliography of Korean Cinema
Books about Korean Cinema

KMDB (한국영화데이테베이스) Searchable Korean Movie Database on films, people, images, articles, criticisms, scenarios, and publications.  KTV National Record Film (e-영상역사관) Government AV archives; Taehan News,documentaries, films and, voice recordings.  
Korean Classic Film Theater at Youtube Korean classic films with English subtitles at YouTube provided by Korean Film Archive.  
Korean Film Archive (한국영상자료원) The Korean Film Archive collects and preserves moving image materials as cultural heritage. In addition, the Archive has a specialized film library to provide easier digital access to film-related information. 
Korean Film Biz Zone (KoBiz)  Provides film database, box office records in Korea, in depth coverage of Korean cinema, featuring the latest Korean film news, industry, as well as interviews with industry professionals and sneak previews of upcoming films. Updated daily.

Korean Film VOD Korean classic films from the one made in the 1940s during the Japanese colonial rule to the ones made today and independent     films. KMDB VOD provides well-known Korean films from 1930 to 1990 including some quite classic films, documentaries and    national videos as well as independent films.  
Koreanfilm.org Fansite launched in 1999 that includes reviews, discussion board, and blogs.  
HanCinema Korean movie and drama database.

 

Watch Korean Movies & Videos

Kanopy
Korean Film Archive YouTube Channel
Movies available through Wesleyan University Library Catalog