Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Documents

National Archives

Many countries around the world store their historic documents, images, maps, and datasets in national archives.  The quality of these organizations varies depending on various economic, political, cultural, and technological factors.  This guide provides a list of national archive website and information on the information resources they contain and procedures for user access to these resources.

United States National Archives and Records Administration

Albania State Archive

Argentina-National General Archive(In Spanish)

Armenia National Archives

Australia-National Archives

Austria National Archives

Belgium State Archives

Bhutan National Library & Archives

Brazil National Archives (In Portuguese) 

Bulgaria National Archives

Canada-Library & Archives Canada

China State Archives Administration

   Hong Kong Public Records Office

   Macao Historic Archives

Colombia National Archives (In Spanish)

Croatia State Archives

Cyprus State Archives

Czech Republic National Archives

Denmark National Archives

Ecuador National Archives (In Spanish)

Egypt National Archives

Estonia National Archives

Ethiopia National Archives & Library Agency

Finland National Archives

France National Archives (In French)

Georgia National Archives (In Georgian)

Germany National Archives

Greece General State Archives

Hungary-National Archives

Iceland National Archives

India National Archives

Indonesia National Archives

Iraq National Library & Archives (In Arabic)

Ireland National Archives

Israel State Archives

Italy-Central State Archives (In Italian)

Japan National Archives

Latin American Network Information Center

Liechtenstein National Archives (In German) 

Lithuania-Chief Archivist's Office

Luxembourg-National Archives (In French)

Malaysia National Archives

Malta-National Archives

Mexico National Archives (In Spanish)

Netherlands-National Archive

New Zealand National Archives

Norway-National Archival Services

Philippines-National Archives

Poland-National Digital Archives

Romania-National Archives (In Romanian)

Russia-State Archive of Contemporary History

Russia-State Archive of Literature & Art (In Russian)

Senegal National Archives (In French)

Serbia-National Archives (In Serbian)

Singapore National Archives

Slovenia-Archives of the Republic

South Africa National Archives and Records Service

South Korea National Archives (In Korean)

Spain-General Archives Simanca(In Spanish)

Spain-General Archives of the Indies (In Spanish)

Sri Lanka-National Archives

Sweden National Archives

Switzerland-Federal Archives

Taiwan National Archives Administration

Trinidad & Tobago-National Archives

Turkey General Directorate of Archives (In Turkish)

United Kingdom National Archives

  Gibraltar Archives

  National Library of Wales

  Northern Ireland Public Records Office

  Scotland Archives

United States National Archives and Records Administration