Note: It is important to keep in mind that anyone can publish information on the Internet. You need to be very careful about evaluating and citing information found on the Web.
Multi-Media
- Smarthistory - Founded by art historians at the Fashion Institute of Technology, Smarthistory is an open educational resource dedicated to the study of art that attempts to replace traditional art history textbooks with an interactive, well-organized website. Content includes text, images, video, podcasts. Search by time period, style or artist.
- The Art Story: Modern Art Insight - Analyses of artists and movements in the age of modernism, approximately between the years of 1850 and 1980.
- Timeline of Art History - A presentation of the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history.
- Europeana- Explore millions of items from a range of Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Books and manuscripts, photos and paintings, television and film, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, sheet music and recordings.
Meta Sites/Guides to Art Sites - These sites list, and often evaluate, web sites relevant to research in Art. See also Articles, Journals and Databases for a full list of available databases to which the Library subscribes.
Full Text Journals Online
- Architronic: the Electronic Journal of Architecture - Architronic is a scholarly refereed journal, exploring the new ranges of architectural communication available through digital media. It is a platform for both presenting and reviewing research as a journal, and a forum for stimulating dialogue on emerging ideas.
- Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide: a Journal of Nineteenth-Century Visual Culture - The first scholarly, peer-reviewed E-journal devoted to nineteenth-century painting, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, architecture, and decorative arts across the globe.
- British Art Studies - A joint publication of the Paul Mellon Centre for Studies in British Art (PMC), London, and the Yale Center for British Art (YCBA), New Haven. The journal provides an innovative space for new research on all aspects of British art, architecture and visual culture.
- JHNA: Journal of Historians of Netherlandish Art - Every June and December, the journal publishes issues of peer-reviewed articles that focus on art produced in the Netherlands (north and south) during the early modern period (c. 1400-c.1750), and in other countries and later periods as they relate to Netherlandish art.
- Journal of Art Historiography - an Open Access ejournal devoted exclusively to the study of art historiography. Its central purpose is to understand why the history of art gets written in the way that it does. How has it taken shape as a discipline? What are the grounds of its inclusions and exclusions? What are its modes of writing? How does it relate to and intersect with other disciplines?
- The Brooklyn Rail: Critical Perspectives on Art, Politics and Culture - A monthly journal covering arts and politics across New York City and around the world. Each issue features an array of political and literary essays, art criticism, in-depth interviews, original fiction and poetry, as well as film, music, dance, theater and book reviews.
- US Modernist Architecture Magazine Archive - The US Modernist Library is America's largest free, open digital library of major US 20th-century architecture publications. Titles included are: Pencil Points/Progressive Architecture, AIA Journal, House and Home - the Magazine of Building, Arts and Architecture, Architectural Forum, Architecture Plus, ArchNewsNow.com, AIA North Carolina, Metro Magazine and others.
Publications
- The Art Newspaper - A current and comprehensive source of art news worldwide
- artdaily.org - The first art newspaper on the Internet, established in 1996.
- The Architect's Newspaper -- "The Architect's Newspaper is the most comprehensive source of information on the latest projects and commissions, unfolding politics and debate, and cultural developments related to architecture, with an emphasis on the Northeast and West Coast regions (and a Midwest Edition launching in 2010). The latest news is rounded out by a mix of topical essays, opinionated columns, project analyses, firm profiles, interviews, new products, reviews of exhibitions and books, plus a complete calendar of important events and competitions."
- Living Collections Catalogue - Published by the Walker Art Center, each volume of the Living Collections Catalogue includes media-rich essays on broader themes as well as in-depth investigations of specific works of art. Featured works link to records in the Walker’s collections database, where additional information about the artists and artworks is available. Implicit in the concept of a “living catalogue” is the dynamic nature of an online volume about the Walker’s collections.
