American newspapers from the 18th & 19th centuries. Eras covered include the Colonial Period, the French & Indian War, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, African-American History, Industrial Revolution, and Genealogy emphasizing eyewitness accounts of historical events, editorials, popular culture, and commerce during the 18th and 19th centuries in America.

Full text American periodicals published from colonial times to the beginning of the 20th century (1740-1940). Digitized materials include: literary and professional journals, Civil War, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.

Legislative and executive documents from the first 14 U.S. Congresses, from 1789-1817. Includes papers on foreign relations; Indigenous peoples; finance; commerce and navigation; military and naval affairs; genealogy; and political, social, cultural, and ethnic history.

Records describing archival materials, making information available about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials, held primarily at institutions in the United States. Also provides contact information for the institutions where the collections are kept.

Declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century.

Full text books, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents, ephemera, etc., printed in the United States from the early colonial era until 1900.
Digitized materials Include:
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
- American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I, 1760-1900

Historic newspapers covering three centuries.

Descriptions of early interactions and encounters among various cultural groups in North America as well as its natural features using a variety of primary source materials. Early encounters between Native Americans, Europeans, Africans and Americans on the North American Continent from 1534

Books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera printed in the United Kingdom and Americas between 1701 and 1800 on the subjects including art, history, law, literature, music, and technology.

Digitized complete contents (e.g., articles, news, editorials, illustrations, cartoons, advertisements, maps, travel narratives, poetry) for years covered – search text, browse by issues, or browse by topics.

Cross-searchable access to the complete contents of the following sixteen (16) historical newspapers. Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Boston Globe (1872-1994); Chicago Defender (1909-1975); Chicago Tribune (1849-1999); Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991); Hartford Courant (1764-1998); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Los Angeles Times (1881-2000); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); New York Times (1851-2020); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Wall Street Journal (1889-2012), Washington Post (1877-2007).

Primary source material from nine (9) newspapers essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts, examines major movements from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights, and explores everyday life. The newspapers included in this collection are: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991); Kansas City Call (1919-2010); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).

Rare Periodicals from Confederate, Union, Abolitionist, and British Presses most of them illustrated and published from 1860 to 1865. The publications present four viewpoints: Union, Confederate, Abolitionist, and British. The database also contains a sample selection of letters from The American Civil War Letters and Diaries. These publications allow users to follow the election of Lincoln in 1860, the subsequent course of the Civil War from Fort Sumter through Appomattox, Lincoln's re-election in 1864, his assassination in 1865, and the beginning of Reconstruction under President Andrew Johnson

A cross-searchable database of literature and criticism, including full text works of poetry, prose, and drama in English.

Primary sources related to development of the U.S. infrastructure. American social history from the Antebellum period through Reconstruction, with focus on education, psychology, history, sociology, religion, science, and technology.

Aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States. 1790-current. Note: data is free for use, but registration is required.

Primary source material from immigrants to the United States and Canada. Letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, political cartoons, and oral histories from 1890-1920.

Primary source material about personal and historical events written by women who lived in North America from 1675 to 1950. Materials include letters and diaries previously published in other sources as well as materials from unpublished manuscript sources.

Digitized texts and images of primary source materials for the humanities, primarily from classical Greece and Rome, but also including other collections such as the Renaissance and 19th century U.S.

Pamphlets and Newspapers expanding on individual perspectives of government officials, clergy, social reformists, the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties, and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves. Dates covered 1840-1865

Books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, religious history and more. Includes the Caribbean. Covers dates from time of discovery to the early 1900s.

Digital library of high resolution images for instruction, study, and research in the arts, architecture, humanities and social sciences. The images have been contributed by museums, scholarly collections, photo archives, and artists' estates. Pre-history-21st century.

Full-text collection of early women’s writing in English. Includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible.