PsycInfo is a database of journal article citations. It can be used to identify research studies that have utilize or validated tests. Searches can also identify citations that include actual tests.
Search by test name
It is often best simply to search for the test name (remember to put it in quotes). If too many extraneous citations appear in the results, you can restrict your search tot he TM Tests & Measures field. This field lists those tests used in a study (most of the time).
Type the test name (ex. Cognitive Processes Associated with Creativity Scale), then select TM Tests & Measures from the drop-down menu.
If you don't know the exact name of the test, type select words from the test name (ex. creativity or creative) in lieu of the proper name.
Search by topic (what tests exist on a topic?)
Type descriptive keywords in the search box(es), then click Search.
Go to the Refine Results section (left side of screen) and scroll to Tests & Measures. This list provides those tests used in articles on your topic in order of frequency. Click “see more” for a comprehensive list of tests.
Focus on information about the development, reliability, or validity of a test
In the first search box, type the test name (ex. Cognitive Processes Associated with Creativity Scale), then select TM Tests & Measures from the drop-down menu.
In the second search box, type Test Construction OR Test Reliability OR Test Validity, then select SU Subject from the drop-down menu. Alternatively, you can expand your search by typing the keywords Construction OR Reliability OR Validity OR "Test Review" in the second search box, then select Select a Field (optional) from the drop-down menu.
Find articles that include tests (not just mentions of tests)
In the first search box, type appended, then select TM Tests & Measures from the drop-down menu
Enter your keywords in the second text box.
This is not a surety. Other items can be appended to an article. However, because the "appended" notation was added to the test and measures field in 2004, it is worth trying.
HAPI is a specialized database, used to identify tests that have been included in peer-reviewed scholarly journals, books, technical reports, and test publishers' catalogs. It does not provide the full text of any test.
Searching HAPI
Keyword searches in HAPI automatically search these fields: TI (Test) Title, AU Author, AB Abstracts, ST Subscale*, and SU Subject Headings. Use the pull-down menu to restrict a search to a specific field (ex. TI (Test) Title).
Keyword searches dol not search these fields: AC Acronym or ME Measure**. To search by acronym or measure, enter your terms and use the pull-down menus to select the appropriate fields.
*ST Subscale --terms describing the variables measured by an instrument's subscales.
** ME Measure--terms describing the variables the test is intended to measure.
HAPI Article Classifications
Understanding HAPI's unique classification system will help you to hone your search.
1) Primary Source - original article that debuts a new test. Primary sources provide more information about test development than articles reporting subsequent use.
2) Publisher's Catalog - tests included in such catalogs.
3) Review Source - articles that analyze and discusses a test, but do not use the tests for study.
4) Secondary Source - articles that report on studies which employed a test.
5) Translated Source – articles about tests that have been translated into a language other than the original language.
ERIC is a database for educational (and thus educational psychology) journal articles (EJ) and unique ERIC documents (ED). It can be used to identify research studies that have utilize or validated tests. Searching from the Advanced Search screen is highly advised.
Search by test name
If an article reports the use of a test, ERIC adds the Publication Type as Tests/Questionnaires, but it does not capture the name of the test.
Type the test name in the search box. From the limits (lower part of screen), go to Publication Type and select "Tests/Questionnaires". Alternatively, you can expand your results by foregoing the selection of a publication type.
Search by topic (what tests exist on a topic?)
Type descriptive keywords in the first search box. From the limits (lower part of screen), go to Publication Type and select "Tests/Questionnaires".
You can expand your results by foregoing the selection of a publication type; instead type the following keywords in the second search box,
test* OR measure* OR survey* OR questionnaire* OR scale* OR batter* OR inventor* OR checklist* OR instrument* OR inventor* OR pretest* OR pre-test* OR posttest* OR post-test* OR interview*
Find information about the development, reliability, or validity of a test
In the first search box, type the test name (ex. Cognitive Processes Associated with Creativity Scale).
In the second search box, type "Test Review" OR "Test Reviews" OR "Test Reliability" OR "Test Validity" OR "Construct Validity" OR "Content Validity", then select SU Descriptors from the drop-down menu.
Alternatively, you can expand your search by typing the keywords Construction OR Reliability OR Validity OR "Test Review" in the second search box, then select Select a Field (optional) from the drop-down menu.
PubMed is a large biomedical database. It contains journal article citations to many articles that utilize tests. Because of the scope of the database, these may be small scale assessments or large epidemiological tests, such as governmentally administered national surveys.
Search by test name
It's simple, type the test name. Just make sure to put it in quotes.
Search by topic (what tests exist on a topic?)
1. Type descriptive keywords in the search box(es).
2. Separate keywords with the word AND.
3. Put phrases (concepts with more than 1 word) in quotes.
4. Add the following subject. AND "Psychological Tests"[Mesh]
Ex. creativity AND "high school" AND "Psychological Tests"[Mesh]
To expand results beyond the realm of psychology, replace AND "Psychological Tests"[Mesh] with "Surveys and Questionnaires"[Mesh]
Ex. creativity AND "high school" AND "Surveys and Questionnaires"[Mesh]
Alternatively, append the following to the search AND (test* OR measure* OR survey* OR questionnaire* OR scale* OR batter* OR inventor* OR checklist* OR instrument* OR inventor* OR pretest* OR pre-test* OR posttest* OR post-test* OR interview*)
Ex. creativity AND "high school" AND (test* OR measure* OR survey* OR questionnaire* OR scale* OR batter* OR inventor* OR checklist* OR instrument* OR inventor* OR pretest* OR pre-test* OR posttest* OR post-test* OR interview*)
Find information about the development, reliability, or validity of a test
Type the test name followed by AND "Reproducibility of Results"[Mesh]
Ex. "Cognitive Processes Associated with Creativity Scale" AND "Reproducibility of Results"[Mesh]
To expand results replace AND "Reproducibility of Results"[Mesh] with In the following: AND (Construction OR Reliability OR Validity OR "Test Review")
Ex. "Cognitive Processes Associated with Creativity Scale" AND (Construction OR Reliability OR Validity OR "Test Review")
CINAHL is an acronym for Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. It is a database of journal article citations. It can be used to identify research studies that have utilize or validated tests.
Search by test name
If an article mentions using a test, CINAHL includes the test name in the IN Instrumentation field.
Type the test name (ex. Cognitive Processes Associated with Creativity Scale), then select IN Instrumentation from the drop-down menu.
If you don't know the exact name of the test, type select words from the test name (ex. creativity or creative) in lieu of the proper name.
Search by topic (what tests exist on a topic?)
Type descriptive keywords in the search box(es). From the limits (lower part of screen), go to Publication Type and select three options:" Interview", "Questionnaire/Scale", and "Research Instrument".
You can expand your results by foregoing the selection of a publication type; instead type the following keywords in the second search box,
test* OR measure* OR survey* OR questionnaire* OR scale* OR batter* OR inventor* OR checklist* OR instrument* OR inventor* OR pretest* OR pre-test* OR posttest* OR post-test* OR interview*
Find information about the development, reliability, or validity of a test
In the first search box, type the test name (ex. Cognitive Processes Associated with Creativity Scale), then select IN Instrumentation from the drop-down menu.
In the second search box, type Reliab* OR Valid*, then select MW Word in Subject Heading from the drop-down menu. Alternatively, you can expand your search by typing the keywords Construction OR Reliability OR Validity OR "Test Review" in the second search box, then select Select a Field (optional) from the drop-down menu.
Dissertations & Theses can be a good source for full-tests, as authors sometimes published the tests used in their appendices.
Use the Advanced Search screen.
In the first search box, type descriptive keywords, then select Anywhere except full text -- NOFT from the drop-down menu.
In the second search box, type (test* OR measure* OR survey* OR questionnaire* OR scale* OR batter* OR inventor* OR checklist* OR instrument* OR inventor* OR pretest* OR pre-test* OR posttest* OR post-test* OR interview*) near/5 appendix*)
