What Is EndNote
What Is EndNote?
EndNote is a citation management system designed to keep track of references in your research. It offers many different reference types, including journal articles, books, conference proceedings, maps, and theses. You can import references directly from many online databases, copy and paste from online citations, or manually type in the reference. Once entered, a reference may be edited or deleted as needed. EndNote also works with many word processing programs (e.g. Word) to easily create in-text citations, footnotes, and bibliographies, in many different citation styles, while writing your paper.
But What Can It Do For Me?
EndNote can keep you organized (or at least help). As you are researching your topic, you will accumulate many references to materials you will use while writing your paper. In the past, scholars have resorted to keeping these citations on note cards, paper, napkins, gum wrappers, and the palms of their hands. EndNote allows you to create a library of relevant citations and automatically insert and format footnotes and bibliographies into your papers.
So How Do I Get It?
Most computers on campus have EndNote loaded on them; however, it will be most useful to have it on your own computer. Wesleyan students and faculty can obtain a free copy of EndNote from ITS on WesFiles - navigate to the "Software" folder, then to MacSoft/All or PCSoft/All and look for the EndNote folder.
Please note that Wesleyan's license requires that you remove EndNote from your computer when you leave Wesleyan.
Does It Work with WesFiles?
EndNote files may not work well when access directly on a network drive such as WesFiles. It is best to copy the file to the hard drive of the computer you are using, edit the file using the copy of EndNote on that computer, then copying the updated file back to WesFiles.
I Need More Help
This EndNote tutorial is created to help answer some of the basic questions you may have as you start working with the software. It is by no means exhaustive. For more help, contact Kendall Hobbs, Reference and Instruction Librarian, Olin Library, 685-3962 or firstname.lastname@example.org
When you first start using EndNote, you will run across several not-so-familiar terms. It is important to know what they mean:
- Library - a library is a collection of all your citations. You will create a library the first time you use EndNote. Though you can have unlimited libraries, you may find it easier to have only one. That way all of your citations are in one file. (file extension=.enl)
- Connection File - a script that enables you to connect to a remote database via EndNote, search directly, and import into your library. (file extension=.enz)
- Filter File - a script that enables you to import citations from a remote database into your EndNote library. (file extension=.enf)
- EndNote Style - the bibliographic style for formatting bibliographies. (file extension=.ens)
- Reference - a citation