LibGuides: African American Studies: Background Information

Encyclopedias

The African American Encyclopedia - Stacks Oversize + (Floor 3A) E185 .A253 1993 - 6 volume encyclopedia with articles on all aspects of African American history and culture. Many articles include a bibliography of recommended sources.
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History - Ref E 185 .E54 1996 - 5 volume encyclopedia covering the people, events, and places in the history of African Americans. Many artuicles include a bibliography of recommended sources.
The African American Almanac - 400 years of triumph, courage and excellence
Black Women of the Harlem Renaissance Era - This reference text cites the participation of women during the Harlem Renaissance in the fields of art, literature, education, activism, entertainment, entrepreneurship, and professional roles.
Encyclopedia of African-American Writing - Online or in print at Reference Collection (Floor 1) PS153.N5 A3444 2009 - covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present.
Encyclopedia of African American Business History - Reference Collection (Floor 1) HD2344.5 .U6 E53 1999 -
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 from the colonial period to the age of Frederick Douglas - Online or in print at Reference Collection (Floor 1) E185 .E545 2006
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the present: from the age of segregation to the twenty-first century - Online or in print at Reference Collection (Floor 1) E185 .E5453 2009
Encyclopedia of African American Society - Stacks Oversize + (Floor 3A) E185 .E546 2005 - the first comprehensive, accessible reference set in this field to give voice to the turbulent trends, past and present, that are often ignored in favor of mere facts.

Bibliographies

Kaiser Index to Black Resources, 1948-1986 - Z 1361 .N39 K34 1992 - Citations to research sources for African American studies, arranged by Library of Congress subject headings; compiled by the reference staff of the Schomburg Library branch of the New York Public Library, a major collection of African American research materials.
The African American Mosaic - Z 1361 .N39 L47 1993 - A Library of Congress resource guide for the study of black history and culture.

African American Literature: Overview and Bibliography by Tilden, Paul Q
Call Number: Stacks PS153.N5 A37 2003

Guides/Summaries

The Negro Almanac: A Reference Work on the African American (5th edition) - Ref E 185 .N385 - Arranged thematically, so the people, issues, and events covered are presented in context rather than in isolated articles.
Chronology of African-American History - Ref E 185 .H64 - A chronological outline of significant events and people in African American history from 1619 to 1990.
African American Biographies - Ref E 185 .96 .H38 - Profiles of 890 notable contemporary African Americans.

Statistics

Historical Statistics of Black America - Ref E 185 .H543 1995 - A chronology of the condition, status, and experiences of African Americans in business, politics, education, family, health, religion, and other areas of American society from the 18th century to 1975.
The Black Population in the United States - Web site from the US Census Bureau
Black Stats: African Americans by the numbers in the 21st Century E185.86 .M637 2014

Web Sites

African American World
From PBS, a guide to African American history and culture.
African American Literature
The African American Mosaic
A Library of Congress resource guide for the study of black history and culture.