From PBS, a guide to African American history and culture.

A Library of Congress resource guide for the study of black history and culture.

is dedicated to providing the inquisitive public with comprehensive, reliable, and accurate information concerning the history of African Americans in the United States and people of African ancestry in other regions of the world. It is the aim of the founders and sponsors to foster understanding through knowledge in order to generate constructive change in our society.

provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.

is one of the world's leading research facilities devoted to the preservation of materials on the global African and African diasporan experiences.

retains millions of records that document the judicial, social, cultural, and economic history of the city, county, state, and nation.

makes African American history more broadly accessible through a freely available widget and search tool, umbrasearch.org; digitization of African American materials across University of Minnesota collections; and support of students, educators, artists, and the public through residencies, workshops, and events locally and around the country.

Oakland Museum of CA The “All Of Us Or None” (AOUON) archive project was started by Free Speech Movement activist Michael Rossman in 1977 to gather and document posters of modern progressive movements in the United States. Though some early works are included, its focus is on the domestic political poster renaissance that began in 1965 and continues to this day. When Rossman died May 12, 2008 his family donated the collection to the Oakland Museum of California.

The Digital Library on American Slavery is an expanding resource compiling various independent online collections focused upon race and slavery in the American South, made searchable through a single, simple interface.

first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves.

a collection of Africana social science titles, presented in one easily accessible location on the internet.

using objects of intolerance to teach tolerance and promote social justice.

A century of great African American Speeches

Explore the origins and forced relocations of enslaved Africans across the Atlantic world