Ukiyo-e Search provides an incredible resource: The ability to both search for Japanese woodblock prints by simply taking a picture of an existing print AND the ability to see similar prints across multiple collections of prints. Below is an example print, click to see it in action. (Courtesy DAC Director Clare Rogan for the site.)
Local Links and Info
Call Number locations for East Asian Studies books (in Olin Reference and Stacks)
D 500-1000 - History of East Asia PL 500-4999 - Eastern Asian languages and literatures Z 3000-3499 - Bibliographies of publications on Asia
Research in East Asian Studies
This is a brief guide to some of the major library and internet resources for research in East Asian Studies. Remember that depending on your topic, resources in other subject areas may also be useful. If you want more resources or assistance using these, please set up a personal research session to meet with a librarian.
China Academic Journals Full Text : 1915- (中国学术期刊全文数据库)
CAJ, or Zhongguo xue shu qi kan quan wen shu ju ku, a product of Tsinghua-TongFang via EastView. Covers thousands of journals in humanities and social sciences; from 1994; full text in both PDF and CAJ viewer. The new CAJ interface integrates Century Journals Project databases (First Phase & Expanded), which covers journals from the earliest issue through 1993. The CAJ database has English abstracts for most articles, so searches may be conducted in English.
The National Institute of Korean History (국사편찬위원회) has brought research accomplishments in the field of Korean history and published the History of Korea (Hanguksa) in 53 volumes including 삼국사기 and 삼국유사.
Yomiuri shinbun (Tokyo, Japan): from 01/01/2002 to present in Factiva
News - Asia/Pacific
Head of Access Services
Hi, I'm the Head of Access Services at Olin Library. Please feel free to contact me to learn how the library can help you with your research projects.
My office is in
Olin Library, Room 110
The Kikuzo database provides access to Asahi Shimbun: full text from 1984 to the present, Image Database from 1879 to 1989: Meiji and Taisho Periods (1879-1926), Pre-War Showa Period (1926-1945), Post-WWII Showa Period (1945-1989); Who’s Who; and a Historical Photo Archive for the Period between the 1930s and 1945.
Yomidas Rekishikan-Yomiuri Shimbun
Yomidas Rekishikan is an online database of 11 million articles covering every issue of The Yomiuri Shimbun newspaper since its first issue in 1874. The database has four parts: the Meiji, Taisho and Showa Eras section contains high-quality scans of the articles as they appeared in the original print editions during these periods. The Heisei Era section presents articles in a convenient text view, and for articles since December 2008 there is a clipping view of the original article. The Japan News section catalogues articles which have appeared in our English publication. And finally, the Contemporary Who's Whoallows searching by individuals to retrieve biographical information as well as articles which pertain to them.