CHINA: Timeline of Chinese History and Dynasties

JAPAN: Japanese History: A Chronological Outline

KOREA: A Timeline of Korean History

VIETNAM: Vietnamese History: A Chronological Outline

SOUTH ASIA: History of South Asia: A Chronological Outline

The Geography of East Asia

EAST ASIA: 20TH CENTURY:
Imperialism, War, Revolution in East Asia: 1900-1945  

• Vietnam as a Colony of France, 1862-1954, and Japanese Invasion
• Korea as a Colony of Japan, 1910-1945
• China in Revolution, 1912-1949
• Japan in China, 1937-1945
• Japan at War with the United States, 1941-1945

China

• China: 1945-2000
• A Chronology of the PRC under Mao Zedong (1949-1976)

Japan

• Japan: 1945-2000

Korea

• Korea: 1945-2000

Vietnam

• Vietnam: 1945-2000

Use reference sources for introductions or brief summaries of topics in East Asia:  

Credo Reference A large collection of published academic reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.)  

China: A Historical and Cultural Dictionary DS 733 .C58523 1500 entries covering Chinese civilization from Peking Man to the present day. 
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture  Olin Ref DS 779.23 .E5 1200 entries exploring a diverse range of cultural subjects.

Encyclopedia of Modern Asia Olin Ref DS 4 .L48  Six volumes of entries about key people, places, events, issues, and processes across Asia. 

Facts about China Olin Ref DS 706 .F25  A comprehensive reference source covering all major topics regarding the People’s Republic of China.

Historical Dictionary of the Republic of Korea  Olin Ref DS 904.8 .N34  Domestic, political, and social events, foreign affairs, economic and cultural developments, and the men and women who have influenced South Korea's history.  

Encyclopedia of Korean Culture (한국민족문화대백과사전)

JapanKnowledge [electronic resource] : chishiki tansaku saito = Japan knowledge : encyclopedias, dictionaries and databases. A rich resource of Japanese reference sources. Among the many encyclopedias and dictionaries it includes the Nihon Kokugo Daijiten. Click the Japanese "login" button to access.  

Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan Olin Ref DS 805 .K633  Older but still essential encyclopedia on all things Japan. 

Modern Japan: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Nationalism Olin Ref DS 805 .M63 Covers key people, events, and themes in Japan since Admiral Perry's visit in the 1850s. 

Political and Economic Dictionary of East Asia Olin Ref DS 504 .H63 2005 Concise definitions of the terms, organizations, and personalities making up the economic and political fabric of East Asia. 

Routledge Handbook of New Media in Asia HN 655.2 I56 R68 2016  The current state of the mass media in Asian countries.