Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College of East Asian Studies: Japan - History

Historical Images & Documents

国立公文書館絵巻物 National Archives' scrolls collection.

錦絵データベース (東大史料編纂所)

Visualizing Cultures

長崎大学所蔵幕末明治期日本古写真コレクション Japanese Od Photographs in Bakumatsu-Meiji period.

Tokyo Archive 都市・東京の記憶 

写真の中の明治・大正:東京編 500 photos of prewar time (1868-1945) Tokyo are searchable.

横浜歴史画像集 Historical Images of Yokohama including photos, prints, trademarks, posters.

日本古文書ユニオンカタログ 東京大学史料編纂所作成 Union Catalog of Japanese manuscripts, Univesity of Tokyo.

東京国立博物館所蔵古文書データベース Tokyo National Musemum Historical manuscripts database.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan - Historical Issues

Library of Congress - Fine Prints: Japanese pre 1915  Japanese woodblock prints and drawings, dating from the seventeenth to the twentieth centuries, by such artists as Hiroshige, Kuniyoshi, Sadahide and Yoshiiku. Japanese art forms known as Ukiyo-e, translated as "pictures of the floating (or sorrowful) world" and Yokohama-e, literally "pictures of Yokohama."

Maps

Japanese Historical Maps The Japanese Historical Maps online images are copyrighted by the Regents of the University of California on behalf of the East Asian Library, 2005, all rights reserved.

Pre-modern 前近代

近世編年データベース 

Denki-etcetera 173 biographical data of late Edo intellectuals, created by Anna Beerns.

近世畸人伝(正・続)

江戸時代紀行文集(奈良女子大学)

間宮林蔵『東韃地方紀行」(文化7年)1810 

女性関連資料(奈良女子大学) 69 titles of Books for women including Onnachōhōki 女重寶記  are viewable.

往来物データベース

「和漢三才図絵」(九州大学蔵)

貝原益軒アーカイブ(中村学園)「養生訓」「大和本草」「和俗童子訓」『筑前国続風土記」「花譜」「菜譜」

  中世記録人名索引データベース 『経俊卿記』・『勘仲記』(ただし途中まで)・『吉続記』・『花園天皇日記』・『教言卿記』・『満済准后日記』・『看聞日記』など、東京大学史料編纂所作成

『鎌倉遺文』フルテキストデータベース 東京大学史料編纂所作成

『鎌倉遺文』未収録文書目録データベース

吾妻鏡データベース 国文学研究資料館作成

「蒙古襲来絵詞」九州大学蔵

Research Guide for Medieval Japan

奈良時代古文書フルテキストデータベース 東京大学史料編纂所作成

『平安遺文』フルテキストデータベース 東京大学史料編纂所作成

奈良地域関連資料画像データベース(奈良女子大作成)

Guide to Shosoin Research 正倉院研究ガイド Compiled by Bryan Lowe and Chris Mayo.

 

 

Modern History 近代

官報 Government's official daily Kanpo (1883-1952) and English edition (1945-1952) are fully digitized by the National Diet Library. 明治16(1883)年7月2日の官報創刊日から昭和27(1952)年4月30日までの官報、および昭和21(1946)年4月4日から昭和 27(1952)年4月28日の期間のみ刊行されていたOFFICIAL GAZETTE; ENGLISH EDITION(英文官報) 

Japan Center for Asian Historical Records (JACAR) アジア歴史資料センター

資料に見る日本の現代  Modern Japan in Archives

国会図書館憲政資料室 Archives of Modern Japanese Political History at National Diet Library

明六雑誌 国立国語研究所作成 第1−43号(1874−75)

写真週報』創刊号ー352号(1938−1944)

京都大学維新資料画像データベース

近代化黎明期翻訳本全文画像データベース Full Text Image Database of Translations of Western Books in the Dawn of Modern Japan

国会図書館「史料にみる日本の近代」

20世紀年表データベース 

20世紀・21世紀年表データベース 東京大学田中明彦研究室作成

Hiroshima Archive ヒロシマ・アーカイブ

広島・長崎の記憶 "Memories of Hiroshima and Nagasaki--Messages from Hibakusha (atomic bomb survivors)" is a website that makes available to the public first-hand accounts written by hibakusha.

Japan Air Raids.Org 日本空襲デジタルアーカイブ

NHK戦争証言アーカイブズ Audio-visual Pacific War Archives includes many interviews of Japanese soldiers and citizens.

Okinawa Peace Learning Archive 沖縄平和学習アーカイブ Information regarding time and space are supplemented to all of the testmonials and photo materials. It allows the user to move around the skies of Okinawa in 1940s.

戦争を語り継ぐ証言集 Collection of Japanese memoroes of wars.

Japan's Imperial Past

近現代アジアの中の日本        

デジタルアーカイブ旧植民地関係資料検索、滋賀大学 
East Asia Image Collections: photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides of imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945) and occupied Japan (1947-52). Images of Taiwan 台湾, Japan 日本, China 中国, Korea 朝鮮, Manchuria 満州国, andIndonesia are included. Created and maintained by Laffayette College Libraries.   

近代デジタルライブラリー Digital library from the Meiji era. 
写真の中の明治・大正 the Meiji and Taisho Eras in Photographs.
Meiji at 150 Digital Teaching Resource (DTR):  The Meiji at 150 DTR presents new research and digital materials on modern Japanese history in a free, public format for easy adoption in the classroom, while featuring extensive archival and special collections at UBC Library and the Museum of Anthropology. Curated and co-edited by Tristan Grunow and Naoko Kato.

Asahi shinbun Historical Photo Archives 10,000 photos taken between 1930-1945 by asahi journalists. 

諺文新聞差押記事輯錄 / [京城], 朝鮮總督府警務局圖書課, 昭和7 [1932].

殖民世界」目次、その他 (1908) 

満州技術協会雑誌 (1925-1941) Journal of Manchuria Technical Association

満州建築協会雑誌 (1924-1944) The Journal of Manchuria Architectural Association

Korean Independance Outbreak Movement Commonly referred to as the Samil Movement (literally "three one") for its historical date on March 1, 1919, the Korean Independence Movement was one of the earliest and most significant displays of nonviolent demonstration against Japanese rule in Korea. (available at Columbia Univ. Site)

Mantesu kiroku eigashu 満鉄記録映画集 (1-12 in DVD)

Propaganda Jepang 1943 - TENTARA PEMBELA (HQ)

Propaganda Jepang 1944 - INDONESIA RAJA (HQ)

Propaganda Jepang 1945 - IR. SOEKARNO KEMBALI DARI SULAWESI (HQ)

Transcolonial Film Coproductions in the Japanese Empire: Antinomies in the Colonial Archive Cross-Currents E-Journal (No. 5) ISSN: 2158-9674, December 2012
Taiwan Database for Empirical Legal Studies