Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Course Reserve

Introduction to reusing ("rolling over") lists

Rolling over a reserve list makes a copy of your existing list and attaches the new copy to the course of your choosing (for example, you may wish to make a copy for the same course but in a new semester.) 

The rollover process makes a copy of the list, all the files and citations it contains, tags and public notes. Due dates and section dates are cleared. You have the option whether to copy reading list collaborators and student discussions when you roll over the list.

After rolling over, you may edit the rolled over list as needed. This doesn't change the original list, just the copy made during the rollover.

It is important to make a copy/roll over rather than using the same list over and over in order to get valid use statistics for each semester and to reset student discussions and due dates.

See the appropriate section below for instructions on rolling over your reserve list to a new semester.  The procedures vary depending upon whether you are rolling over a list created:

  • prior to Fall 2020 (on the "old" reserve system)
  • Fall 2020 or later and you are not using Moodle
  • Fall 2020 or later and you are using Moodle

How to roll over a list created prior to Fall 2020

If you wish to reuse a list created prior to Fall 2020, please email reserve@wesleyan.edu with the original course number, the new course number, and the semester in which you plan to use it. The Library Reserve Department will migrate the old list from our original Eres or print reserve system to the new Course Reserve system and notify you when complete.

To reuse lists from Fall 2020 and beyond, follow the below instructions.

How to roll over a list for non-Moodle courses

If you wish to reuse a list and you will not be using Moodle in the new course, email reserve@wesleyan.edu with the original course number and semester, the new course number, and the semester in which you plan to use it.

The Library Reserve Department will roll over the list to the new course and semester and notify you when complete.

At that point you will be able to access Course Reserve, find the new list and make any desired changes to it.

How to roll over a list for Moodle courses

  1. Start from the Moodle for the course and term that you want to attach the reserve list to.
  2. Click on Create/Connect to Library Course Reserve.

 

  1. From the Library Course Reserve Setup page, click Copy an Existing List

 

  1. Select the course which the old list is attached to.

 

  1. Provide a reading list name. We strongly recommend that you change the (Rolled Over) text in the reading list name to contain the semester and year (e.g. Spring 2021) so that you can easily keep track of which list is for which semester.

 

  1. Change the default options if desired. The options available are:
    • Do you want existing permalinks to point to the new list once the list is published? (If you don't use permalinks it doesn't matter which you select)
      • Yes - existing permalinks will point to the new list. They will no longer direct students to the original list.
      • No- existing permalinks will continue to point to the original list.
    • Reading list collaborators:
      • Copy - reading list collaborators such as TAs or AAs will be copied to the new list
      • Reset - reading list collaborators such as TAs or AAs will not be copied to the new list
    • Student discussions:
      • Copy - existing student discussions on the list or citations will be copied to the new list. Please consider student privacy before selecting this option.
      • Reset - existing student discussions will not be copied to the new list.

 

  1. After choosing from the options click Roll Over to copy the list.

Result: The new list is a copy of the old list and is now attached to the Moodle course and term you started from.

  1. Continue with the steps "After rolling over your list" shown below.

After rolling over your list

After you roll over your list, you need to:

  • unhide the Create/Connect to Library Course Reserve link in Moodle so that your students can access the link
  • publish your reserve list so that students can access it
  • add list, section, and citation due dates if desired
  • add list collaborators (such as TAs, AAs, and co-instructors) if they are different from the collaborators from the prior semester

After you roll over your list, the original list will warn you that there is a newer copy of the list available. This is just a reminder to help you think about whether you are editing the correct version of the list. Only you see this warning; your students do not.

You may continue to edit and add resources to both the new and old list -- just remember that they will not be synchronized again after the rollover, so be sure you are adding the new citations to the correct list.